How do you add inline images to aI() calls? [SOLVED]

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
User avatar
nwilcox
Mega Advanced
Mega Advanced
Posts: 269
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 6:14 am
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Contact:

How do you add inline images to aI() calls? [SOLVED]

Post by nwilcox »

I'd like to add an inline image after some of the text items in a menu.

Code: Select all

aI("text=Test Offsite Link;status=Test Offsite Link<img src=image=/images/icon_offsite_quicklink.gif>;url=http://www.ektron.com;target='new';showmenu=;");
Nothing is rendering. The HTML is just ignored

I tried using the combo of "image", "imagealign" and "imageposition" but that doesn't give me what I need either.

What I'd to do is attached below (the white "offsite link" arrow icon
Attachments
inline_image.gif
inline_image.gif (15.49 KiB) Viewed 4046 times
Last edited by nwilcox on Tue Jul 21, 2009 9:51 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Nick Wilcox
Web Developer
ServerSide, Inc.
http://www.serverside.net
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Re: How do you add inline images to individual aI() calls?

Post by Ruth »

Hi,

You have the html image tag in the wrong place, you have it with the status rather than with the text section.

Code: Select all

aI("text=Test Offsite Link<img src=image=/images/icon_offsite_quicklink.gif>;status=Test Offsite Link;url=http://www.ektron.com;target='new';showmenu=;");
Now, if you are doing this because you want the image to be right next to the text, then it will definately be there. It is absolutely right next to the last letter k in the word link. If you want it over a bit farther you will actually have to make a different image that has a bit of space to the left side and is transparent there in order to get it to shift over. You can't use the non breaking line space code because it then won't display the image. If you want the image positioned all the way right and in line with the offsite link that is in the top menu on your other test page you have up then you can use the regular image code with imageposition code

Code: Select all

aI("text=Test Offsite Link;image=icon_offsite.gif;imageposition=right;status=Test Offsite Link;url=http://www.ektron.com;target='new';showmenu=;");


Just for your information the status is not a property anymore. Way back, when the phising became an issue in browsers and was considered a security issue Milonic removed status from the programming. So, all that does really is add to the file and you don't get a status line anymore.
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Re: How do you add inline images to individual aI() calls?

Post by Ruth »

I just wanted to tell you that, you make fantastic pages. I love everyone I've seen that you've done!

Ruth
User avatar
nwilcox
Mega Advanced
Mega Advanced
Posts: 269
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 6:14 am
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Contact:

Re: How do you add inline images to individual aI() calls?

Post by nwilcox »

oh my gosh! :oops: :oops: I'm an idiot!

oh thanks for the kudos but I don't design the menus, I just have to make the work! ;)

thanks yet again for saving my tail!

I'll also remove status = I should have caught that!
Nick Wilcox
Web Developer
ServerSide, Inc.
http://www.serverside.net
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Re: How do you add inline images to aI() calls? [SOLVED]

Post by Ruth »

You're very welcome. I thought you did the page layouts and designs. Well, whoever does them, they are great :)

Ruth
Post Reply