menuDisplay not working?

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
User avatar
nwilcox
Mega Advanced
Mega Advanced
Posts: 269
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 6:14 am
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Contact:

menuDisplay not working?

Post by nwilcox »

http://clients1.serverside.net/acfas/in ... e=interior

I want to have a plain text link in the text copy ("I am opening a Milonic Menu!") pop one of the 'click to open' menus in the site hedaer (like Advanced Search or Login). I tried using 'menuDisplay' and 'popMenu' but neither function is doing what I need it to. 'menuDisplay' does nothing and 'popMenu' pops the menu right at the text hyperlink. Do you have any suggestions for this?
Nick Wilcox
Web Developer
ServerSide, Inc.
http://www.serverside.net
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Re: menuDisplay not working?

Post by Ruth »

Hi,

Have you tried this

Code: Select all

<A 
onclick="_m[getMenuByName('MegaMenuFindColleague')][7]=true;popup('MegaMenuFindColleague',1);" 
href="javascript:void(0)">I am opening a Milonic Menu!</A>
The menu opens for me, but since I am on my desktop, I had to put in the full path in the data file for that iframes page. If you want the top searches to open then it would be

Code: Select all

<A 
onclick="_m[getMenuByName('MenuMegaTopSearches')][7]=true;popup('MenuMegaTopSearches',1);" 
href="javascript:void(0)">I am opening a Milonic Menu!</A>
I hope my brain is functioning today and I understood what you wanted :)

Ruth
User avatar
nwilcox
Mega Advanced
Mega Advanced
Posts: 269
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 6:14 am
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Contact:

Re: menuDisplay not working?

Post by nwilcox »

Hi Ruth,

well it opens but it opens it right where I just clicked. I need the menu to open where it would pop in the header of the website layout.

Does that make sense?
Nick Wilcox
Web Developer
ServerSide, Inc.
http://www.serverside.net
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Re: menuDisplay not working?

Post by Ruth »

Hi,

Yes, and no, as to the sense. Yes, I know what you want, however, what if the person doesn't 'see' where the menu opens? Anyway, as to positioning it. Again, as before, the only way I know how to do it is to put in an 'anchor' image. So, I tried it and it works fine. I made a 1x1px transparent gif named it anchor.gif. I added it right after the closing script tag for that find a colleague menu. So you'd have

Code: Select all

<LI 
  style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; PADDING-BOTTOM: 0px; PADDING-TOP: 3px;">
  <SCRIPT language=javascript type=text/javascript>
<!--
with (milonic = new menuname("MenuTopFindColleague")) {                                               
openstyle = "tab";
style = menuStyleTopFindColleague;
alwaysvisible = 1;
menuheight = "23px";
itemheight = "23px";
itemwidth = "124px";
orientation = "horizontal";
position = "relative";	
zindex = 95;                                  
aI("keepalive=1;image=btn_findcolleague.gif;overimage=btn_findcolleague_o.gif;pageimage=btn_findcolleague_o.gif;title=FIND A COLLEAGUE;showmenu=MegaMenuFindColleague;");						
} 
drawMenus();
//-->
</SCRIPT><img src="anchor.gif" id=anchor name=anchor width="1" height="1" border="0">
  </LI>
Then the call would be

Code: Select all

<A 
onclick="_m[getMenuByName('MegaMenuFindColleague')][7]=true;popup('MegaMenuFindColleague','anchor',1);" 
href="javascript:void(0)">I am opening a Milonic Menu!</A>
Ruth
User avatar
nwilcox
Mega Advanced
Mega Advanced
Posts: 269
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 6:14 am
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Contact:

Re: menuDisplay not working?

Post by nwilcox »

Ruth

Your approached worked but it is certainly not the way I think it should have worked.

oh well

Thanks again!!!!!!! :D
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Re: menuDisplay not working?

Post by Ruth »

You're welcome :) wheee, I got something right, lol

Ruth
Post Reply