Is there a search function connected w/ Milonic

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8760
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Re: Is there a search function connected w/ Milonic

Postby Ruth » Wed Sep 19, 2012 11:20 pm

Ah! OK, now if you are talking about people that are on your site and want to search for something, you could create a search item in your menu, not a search box, but an item that when they clicked it, would open Google in a new page. So, for example you have the last item as Search Doug's Stuff. When they mouse over that you have an item that explains / gives an example of how to enter the search and telling them to click here. That click would then open up the google search page as a new page. I hope that gives you an idea. I will put something together and post for you so you can see what I mean, but in the meantime, if I have been clear you could play around with it. You might be able to use the target features to control the window that is opening, that is making it a bit smaller than your page, position it, etc.

Ruth

User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8760
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Re: Is there a search function connected w/ Milonic

Postby Ruth » Thu Sep 20, 2012 1:23 am

Hi :)

OK, I am putting what I've made up here for you to copy, but you should be aware that depending on the search term, if some other site has that term and ALSO includes your url someplace that site will also come up, I got two sites when I did the following search "bible" site: http://www.dougsstuff.com and got your site, mostly and then also these two sites

Code: Select all

http://www.battymp3.com/download-mp3/greg-koukl
http://www.webstatsdomain.com/tags/man+and+birds/


That second site is something to do with a Google Ad and reads like this

Code: Select all

man and birds :dougsstuff.com
www.webstatsdomain.com/tags/man+and+birds/
Ads by Google. Doug's Home Page. www.dougsstuff.com. Doug Wolfe's Web Site of religious information and lot's of computer. Tags: bible, jesus, computers ...


Anyway, here's what I made up. Add the following as the last item in your main menu

Code: Select all

aI("showmenu=search;text=SEARCH Doug's Stuff;");


Next, add this new submenu to your array file

Code: Select all

with(milonic=new menuname("search")){
style=style2;
left="offset=-50px";
aI("text=Using this Search option: Click the below link to open the Google Search Site in a new page. Limit your search to Doug's Stuff: enter your search word or words in quote marks followed by: site:www.dougstuff.com. <br><br> Example: \"evolution\" site:www.dougstuff.<br><br>Be aware that this will mostly limit the search to Dougs Stuff, but if another site references your search term and includes my url in its pages, that site will also appear.<br><br>;image=;type=header;headerbgcolor=#ffffff;headercolor=#0066CC;itemwidth=310px;");
aI("text=Google Search Engine.;imagepadding=5;url=http://www.google.com/;target=_blank;targetfeatures=height=800 width=830 top=100 left=50;");
}
'
With this it will open a new window that is going to be 830px wide and 800 high set at 100 px from the top of and 50 for the left. The reason I did that is that it's a pretty good size window but should be smaller than the existing web page so that your site page also shows a bit behind that search window. So, you can try that and see what you think. I think it will work :)

Ruth


Return to “Help & Support for DHTML Menu Version 5+”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests