Mouse pointer when no url is specified

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
alexdresko
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 3:44 pm
Location: Greenville, SC
Contact:

Mouse pointer when no url is specified

Post by alexdresko »

Is there a way to change the mouse pointer to the standard arrow pointer when the user hovers the mouse over a menu item that does not have the url parameter specified (ie, the parent menu of a group of sub menus).

It is confusing to users who don't understand why clicking on a menu item doesn't always work. At this point, the only alternative that I can think of is to make sure that all menu items have a corresponding url parameter. This way, no matter where a user clicks on the menu, they are always redirected to a web page. The biggest problem I see with that is the slight increase in file size. My menu is quite large though and it is becoming difficult to keep the file size down.
----
I'm not a player, I just code a lot.
User avatar
Hergio
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 1123
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 7:46 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Post by Hergio »

declare a css style where you specify the cursor to be the default pointer (if you dont know how to do that, search for it on google or I can post it) and then just set those items to have an onClass of the new style class. ;) Best o' luck.
Dave Hergert
Software Engineer
"Helping to make the menu better, one :?: at a time."
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

Actually it should operate that way now - at least mine do. Arrow cursor for item but no URL, I-beam for headers, hand for URLs.
John
User avatar
Hergio
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 1123
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 7:46 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Post by Hergio »

John, funny, on my menu I have no URL and I still get the pointer....I just have a text and a status. I even removed the status and I still get a pointer. I am using RC10 (built at 18:06 on 9/16/03) with IE6 and Win2000. Hmmm... :?
Dave Hergert
Software Engineer
"Helping to make the menu better, one :?: at a time."
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

Haven't put the RC from today up yet. See my www below to see if you get the same thing there. IE6/XP Pro here.
John
alexdresko
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 3:44 pm
Location: Greenville, SC
Contact:

Post by alexdresko »

So here's the deal. I gave it all I could and I still can't get it to work.

My website has a global .css file which is included in every page. Each page also includes my menu.js file. In the css file (styles.css) I added...

.mousePoint
{
cursor:crosshair;
}

.... and in my menu.js, I tested one of the menu items with...

aI("itemwidth=200;text=About SDPC;showmenu=AboutSDPC;onClass=mousePoint");

Any clue?

Unfortunately, I cannot let the mass public in to see the website but if anyone thinks they can figure out what's wrong I'll email you the private URL.
----
I'm not a player, I just code a lot.
alexdresko
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 3:44 pm
Location: Greenville, SC
Contact:

Post by alexdresko »

Oh and is there somewhere I can get the most recent version of the menu other than the main website? I wonder if the problem is because of the menu version...
----
I'm not a player, I just code a lot.
alexdresko
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 3:44 pm
Location: Greenville, SC
Contact:

Post by alexdresko »

Would it be possible to specify the CSS style in-line with onClass attribute?

Something like...

onClass=cursor:auto;

...?
----
I'm not a player, I just code a lot.
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

alexdresko wrote:aI("itemwidth=200;text=About SDPC;showmenu=AboutSDPC;onClass=mousePoint");
Missing a closing ; after mousePoint...

Code: Select all

aI("itemwidth=200;text=About SDPC;showmenu=AboutSDPC;onClass=mousePoint;");
...but I don't really think that's it.
alexdresko wrote:Oh and is there somewhere I can get the most recent version of the menu other than the main website? I wonder if the problem is because of the menu version...
You haven't given us a clue what version and build (date) you're running, or a URL to look at.

No, the only place to get v5 right now is from the main site by buying a license.
John
User avatar
Hergio
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 1123
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 7:46 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Post by Hergio »

I cannot seem to get onclass and offclass working correctly either. May be a bug, I'll have to confer with Andy.

Also you cannot declare the style inline, it must be a pre-defined style class, as per the documentation quick references.
Dave Hergert
Software Engineer
"Helping to make the menu better, one :?: at a time."
Romeo
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2002 11:30 pm

Post by Romeo »

Has anyone managed to get this to work yet ?
I would love to implement this on my site as a hand over a non url item is a little confusing.
User avatar
Hergio
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 1123
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 7:46 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Post by Hergio »

It SHOULD work, I havent used RC11 with it yet so I can't tell ya. I will try it momentarily. If it still doesnt work, it WILL, soon. Because its supposed to be a feature. Hang tight. ;)
Dave Hergert
Software Engineer
"Helping to make the menu better, one :?: at a time."
alexdresko
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 3:44 pm
Location: Greenville, SC
Contact:

BUMP

Post by alexdresko »

Still not working. http://www.pickens.k12.sc.us. The first menu level should display the pointer and not the hand.

Beware.. extensive use of the menu :)
----
I'm not a player, I just code a lot.
User avatar
Hergio
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 1123
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 7:46 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Post by Hergio »

First you need to update your menu code. YOu are using RC 6.0 and we are currently at RC15 I believe. Alots changed since then. Update your milonic_src, your mmenudom, and your mmenuns4. Make sure you've gotten rid of scriptpath stuff and read the included to docs to make sure you are set. Then see if it doesn't work.

Also, I see you are using ASP.NET. I know this isnt an .NET forum, but your viewstate is HUGE. This slows down the load time of your page unnecessarily if you don't need alot of stateful objects. You really don't seem to have any controls on your page which require state, so you may want to consider turning off the enableViewstate of most of your controls. Just a suggestion. ;) But anyways upgrade to RC 15 of the Milonic DHTML menu.
Dave Hergert
Software Engineer
"Helping to make the menu better, one :?: at a time."
User avatar
Andy
Milonic
Milonic
Posts: 3308
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Menu Developer
Contact:

Post by Andy »

RC16 will include a property called "pointer" that will allow you to change the mouse pointer for each menu item.

Should be release in a day or so.

Cheers
Andy
User avatar
Hergio
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 1123
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 7:46 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Post by Hergio »

excellent, how will it work with onclass? What will override what if they both have a pointer set? If I specify some styles in a class (no pointer) and use it, and then also specify a pointer (with the menu option), will they both show through?
Dave Hergert
Software Engineer
"Helping to make the menu better, one :?: at a time."
User avatar
Andy
Milonic
Milonic
Posts: 3308
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Menu Developer
Contact:

Post by Andy »

The menu parameter will override the CSS value.

Cheers
Andy
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

Andy, do you have the new parameters for RC16 posted on the main site yet?
John
bzeitner
Super Advanced
Super Advanced
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2003 6:02 pm

Post by bzeitner »

Just a note for those interested-

You can change the pointer of any menu item now (as of RC17) using the following syntax:

Code: Select all

pointer=blah;
Where blah= any CSS pointer name (ie cursor)

This goes into the individual menu item's line.

Thanks Andy!
Post Reply