Menu item as link & open submenu: IE and Mozilla Discrep

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
noble1
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 9:37 pm

Menu item as link & open submenu: IE and Mozilla Discrep

Post by noble1 »

Hello,

I am trying to have to have a menu item that opens a submenu on mouseover also serve as a link on click. I checked the little answer in the FAQ, and that's not the problem. In fact in Mozilla, it works perfectly. However in IE (version 6), it doesn't work, and comes up as 'Error on Page.' Why? Your help is appreciated!
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

Invisible code makes it a bit tough to trouble shoot and answer your question. ;) Please post a URL.
John
User avatar
Hergio
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 1123
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 7:46 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Post by Hergio »

Code: Select all

aI("text=Samples;url=/menu.php;showmenu=menuSamples");
Dave Hergert
Software Engineer
"Helping to make the menu better, one :?: at a time."
noble1
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 9:37 pm

Post by noble1 »

Code: Select all

with(milonic=new menuname("Main")){
style=menuStyle;
top=190;
left=0;
alwaysvisible=1;
overflow="scroll";
aI("image=images/btn1.gif;overimage=images/btn1a.gif;url=company.html;status=company;showmenu=Company;");
aI("image=images/btn2.gif;overimage=images/btn2a.gif;url=management_team.html;status=management_team;showmenu=Management;");
aI("image=images/btn3.gif;overimage=images/btn3a.gif;url=products.html;status=products");
aI("image=images/btn4.gif;overimage=images/btn4a.gif;url=technology.html;status=technology;");
aI("image=images/btn5.gif;overimage=images/btn5a.gif;url=news_&_press.html;status=news_&_press;");
aI("image=images/btn6.gif;overimage=images/btn6a.gif;url=careers.html;showmenu=Careers;status=careers;");
aI("image=images/btn7.gif;overimage=images/btn7a.gif;url=contact.html;status=contact;");
}
I think the problem could only be there, unless it's a design issue. The real curiosity is why there is NO problem in Mozilla, but there is one in Explorer 6.

I'm thinking you may need a TEXT parameter in each aI, and since I'm using images, I can just set the fontsize to '0.' Adding <text=blah;> makes the link work, but turns my pointer from a link-hand to an arrow instead. Not good - I want a hand! I also throws off the alignment (not a big deal).

Other than this, I've been very pleased with Milonic, and just bought a license for this domain.

Thanks again,
Noah
Post Reply