_suboffset what sub-meun ?

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
TheNinthPlayer
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2003 4:46 am
Contact:

_suboffset what sub-meun ?

Post by TheNinthPlayer »

Okay so I was looking at the command _suboffset and I'm curious as to what menu is being set. Its when there a menu inside a menu right. This command has nothing to do with the first menu right?

If that is true how can I make the first menu start a few pixels down from the horizontal menu bar?
User avatar
Hergio
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 1123
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 7:46 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Post by Hergio »

_suboffsetXXXX is how far from the parent the child menu should render from its default position which is right off its tail end. If you have a milonic menu as your VERY first menu, then setting this property will make all submenus that come off of your first menu (and subsequent menus) offset by said amount. FYI, _suboffset is a global parameter so all submenus will be offset by the amount you specify, not just one level of menus.

Now if your horizontal menu bar is NOT a milonic menu, maybe its a table of images, you will just have to tell the submenus to position themselves accordingly using their own respective top and left coordinates.

Hope I understood your question, if you have a URL, it may help us understand more and figure out exactly what it is you want to do.
Dave Hergert
Software Engineer
"Helping to make the menu better, one :?: at a time."
TheNinthPlayer
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2003 4:46 am
Contact:

Post by TheNinthPlayer »

http://www.infinity-zero.net/test/

If you click the link above, and hover the mouse over the menu bar the menu pops down. How can I make that menu popup about 3 pixels down from whete it is now?
User avatar
Hergio
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 1123
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 7:46 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Post by Hergio »

Hmm, now I am confused. Andy, this person has

Code: Select all

_subOffsetTop=50              // Sub menu top offset
in their menu_data code and yet the subs are stuck to the bottom of the main menu bar (as they should if you didnt want any offset). Whats up with that? Do I not understand suboffsettop as I should?
Dave Hergert
Software Engineer
"Helping to make the menu better, one :?: at a time."
User avatar
4viggo
Super Advanced
Super Advanced
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 12:03 pm
Location: Norway

Post by 4viggo »

I found the _suboffset parameter on a horizontal menu to work only for the sub-sub menu (if that's what we can call it) So if you add a sub - sub menu it will come in to play :roll:
If you want your sub menu's to move let's say 10 px down you would have to offset them according to your main menu (which is 65px down).
So what I do is trowing in a: top="offset=21"; on each of my sub menu's and then let the _suboffset parameter place the sub - sub menus.

I'm not sure if it was designed this way but at least it works :D

regards
4viggo
User avatar
Hergio
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 1123
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 7:46 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Post by Hergio »

Duh! How stupid of me. Yeah you can use top="offset=10"; to make them bump down. What a total blank I was drawing when I posted that last one. I have used that approach before too. Nice job, thanks for the clarification! So try the offset thing 9thPlayer. ;)
Dave Hergert
Software Engineer
"Helping to make the menu better, one :?: at a time."
User avatar
kevin3442
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2002 12:09 am
Location: Lincoln, NE
Contact:

Post by kevin3442 »

Just to add...

The reason the second level menus (first submenus) in TheNinthPlayer's example are not "bumped down" is because of the Shadow effect (or lack of it) in the menu syle's overfileter: notice that the strength parameter is set to 0 for the Shadow() effect in the overfilter, effectively turning the drop shadow off. In the horizontal example that we typically download with the updates, it is this drop shadow effect that causes the second level menus to be offset downward (by the number of pixels specified in the Shadow's strength). You'll notice, for example, if you run the same sample in browsers that don't support these effects (e.g. NS7), the submenu opens directly on the lower edge of the main menu.

The global _subOffsetTop and _subOffsetLeft parameters appear to exert their effect on submenu positions only when the submenu is opened from a menu item that is part of a vertical menu. To bump a submenu up, down, left, or right, from its default opening position when called from a horizontal menu, you could, as Dave pointed out, use the "offset=nn" option in the top and left menu properties in the submenus themselves.

Hope that helps (and hope it made sense!),

Kevin
TheNinthPlayer
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2003 4:46 am
Contact:

Post by TheNinthPlayer »

thxs it worked. but that raises another question.

How do completely disable the shadow effect? after settings its strength and direction to 0. it still leaves a small line of what at the top.

I chaned my web page attributes to show this. if u load the website again. You will not notice a very faint white above the top of the menu bar. So is there a way to remove that completetly?
User avatar
kevin3442
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2002 12:09 am
Location: Lincoln, NE
Contact:

Post by kevin3442 »

Just take

Code: Select all

;Shadow(color='#ffffff', Direction=0, Strength=0)
completely out of the overfilter string. No function... no effect! That'll still leave you with the Fade effect.

Hope that help,

Kevin
TheNinthPlayer
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2003 4:46 am
Contact:

Post by TheNinthPlayer »

thx
Post Reply