With URL Params - no highlighting in menu

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
jdsturgill
Beginner
Beginner

With URL Params - no highlighting in menu

Post by jdsturgill »

I'm brand new to Milonic so this may be a stupid question.

When I go to a particular page that is in the menu - the menu highlights to let people know what page they are on.

That's groovy.

However, if I go to that same page with a URL parameter - the menu does not highlight.

Question: Is it possible to tell the menu system to ignore the URL parameters and highlight the menu item regardless of the existence or value of the URL parameters?
John
 Team
 Team

Post by John »

What are you defining as 'a URL parameter'? To me that can mean many things.

Always best to post a URL, as requested, so we can see the problem and look at your code at the same time.
John
bzeitner
Super Advanced
Super Advanced

Post by bzeitner »

I take it he means the ?item=value portion of a URL, ie <a href="/dir1/page1.asp?item=value">link</a>
jdsturgill
Beginner
Beginner

Post by jdsturgill »

These URLs are internal - so you will not be able to see the page - but here's the skinnny.

With the following URL - the menu item for Shipping is highlighted.
http://webdevnew/shoppingCart/admin/shipping.cfm

With the following URL - the menu item for Shipping is not highlighted
http://webdevnew/shoppingCart/admin/shi ... pping_id=2
Hergio
Milonic God
Milonic God

Post by Hergio »

If webdevnew is the root of your site, try

/shoppingCart/admin/shipping.cfm

/shoppingCart/admin/shipping.cfm?shipping_id=2

as your urls. The forward slash at the beginning tells it to look in your root and start from there.
Dave Hergert
Software Engineer
"Helping to make the menu better, one :?: at a time."
jdsturgill
Beginner
Beginner

Post by jdsturgill »

I'm may be slightly confused.

Are you suggesting that I add 2 menu items for shipping? One with and one without the URL Parameter?