problem loading the MENU

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
wkilc
Super Advanced
Super Advanced
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2003 9:28 pm

problem loading the MENU

Post by wkilc »

Hi all,

A client just wrote me and said:

"I really appreciate you continually improving our site. The new menu, however, does not appear to be working - at least on my computer. What I see when I go to our site are two small up/down arrows in the upper right corner, underneath the member login. But clicking on these does nothing - therefore I can't navigate the site. Is it just my computer?"

The website is http://www.clccmusic.org

The old menu I used was JAVA... so she must have JAVA enanbled if the old one worked... I assume... what do you think? She wasn't specific about the browser... I am going to take my best guess and say IE 5.5. Most definately IE, though.

I posted a tech support request... but I figured I'd do it here as well... can anyone see a problem?

DHTML menu version 5.0. Placed all the scripts in a subdirectory called "java". The only script I modifed was menu_data.js.

Thanks all.

~Wayne

menu_data.js:



_menuCloseDelay=500 // The time delay for menus to remain visible on mouse out
_menuOpenDelay=150 // The time delay before menus open on mouse over
_followSpeed=5 // Follow scrolling speed
_followRate=40 // Follow scrolling Rate
_subOffsetTop=10 // Sub menu top offset
_subOffsetLeft=-10 // Sub menu left offset
_scrollAmount=3 // Only needed for Netscape 4.x
_scrollDelay=20 // Only needed for Netcsape 4.x



with(menuStyle=new mm_style()){
onbgcolor="#4F8EB6";
oncolor="#ffffff";
offbgcolor="#DCE9F0";
offcolor="#515151";
bordercolor="#296488";
borderstyle="solid";
borderwidth=1;
separatorcolor="#2D729D";
separatorsize="1";
padding=5;
fontsize="90%";
fontstyle="normal";
fontfamily="Verdana, Tahoma, Arial";
pagecolor="black";
pagebgcolor="#82B6D7";
headercolor="#000000";
headerbgcolor="#ffffff";
subimage="http://clccmusic.org/images/arrow.gif";
subimagepadding="2";
overfilter="Fade(duration=0.2);Alpha(opacity=90);Shadow(color='#777777', Direction=135, Strength=5)";
outfilter="randomdissolve(duration=0.3)";
}



with(header=new mm_style()){
onbgcolor="#ffffff";
oncolor="#336633";
offbgcolor="#ffffff";
offcolor="#330099";
bordercolor="#296488";
borderstyle="solid";
borderwidth=0;
separatorcolor="#ffffff";
separatorsize="10";
padding=3;
fontsize="90%";
fontstyle="normal";
fontfamily="Verdana, Tahoma, Arial";
pagecolor="black";
pagebgcolor="#ffffff";
headercolor="#000000";
headerbgcolor="#ffffff";
subimage="http://clccmusic.org/images/arrow.gif";
subimagepadding="2";
overfilter="Fade(duration=0.2);Alpha(opacity=90);Shadow(color='#ffffff', Direction=135, Strength=1)";
outfilter="randomdissolve(duration=0.3)";
}


with(milonic=new menuname("Main Menu")){
style=header;
top=127;
left=5;
alwaysvisible=1;
orientation="horizontal";
aI("text=<b>About CLCC</b>;showmenu=About CLCC;");
aI("text=<b>Performances</b>;showmenu=Performances;");
aI("text=<b>Apprentices</b>;showmenu=Apprentices;");
aI("text=<b>All Media</b>;showmenu=All Media;");
aI("text=<b>Directions</b>;url=http://clccmusic.org/directions.html;");
aI("text=<b>Links</b>;url=http://clccmusic.org/links.html;");
aI("text=<b>Guestbook</b>;url=http://clccmusic.org/guestbook/guestbook.html;");
aI("text=<b>Contact Us</b>;showmenu=Contact Us;");
}

with(milonic=new menuname("About CLCC")){
style=menuStyle;
overflow="scroll";
aI("text=Home;url=http://clccmusic.org/index.shtml;");
aI("text=Who We Are;url=http://clccmusic.org/about_clcc.html;");
aI("text=FAQ;url=http://clccmusic.org/faq.html;");
aI("text=Leadership;showmenu=Leadership;");
aI("text=Join the CLCC!;url=http://clccmusic.org/join_us.html;");
}

with(milonic=new menuname("Leadership")){
style=menuStyle;
aI("text=Music Director;url=http://clccmusic.org/music_director.html;");
aI("text=Accompanists;url=http://clccmusic.org/accompanist.html;");
aI("text=President;url=http://clccmusic.org/president.html;");
aI("text=Vice-President;url=http://clccmusic.org/vice_president.html;");
aI("text=Secretary;url=http://clccmusic.org/secretary.html;");
aI("text=Historian;url=http://clccmusic.org/historian.html;");
aI("text=Section Leaders;url=http://clccmusic.org/section_leaders.html;");
}


with(milonic=new menuname("Performances")){
style=menuStyle;
aI("text=Performances;url=http://clccmusic.org/performances.html;");
aI("text=Booking Info;url=http://clccmusic.org/bookings.html;");
}

with(milonic=new menuname("Apprentices")){
style=menuStyle;
aI("text=Who They Are;url=http://clccmusic.org/apprentices.html;");
aI("text=Apprentice Rehearsals;url=http://clccmusic.org/apprentice_rehearsals.html;");
aI("text=Join the Apprentices!;url=http://clccmusic.org/apprentice_join_us.html;");
}

with(milonic=new menuname("All Media")){
style=menuStyle;
aI("text=Picture Gallery;url=http://clccmusic.org/pictures.html;");
aI("text=Sound Clips;url=http://clccmusic.org/sounds.html;");
aI("text=Movie Clips;url=http://clccmusic.org/movies.html;");
}

with(milonic=new menuname("Contact Us")){
style=menuStyle;
aI("text=Contact Info;url=http://clccmusic.org/contact_us.html;");
aI("text=Booking Info;url=http://clccmusic.org/bookings.html;");
aI("text=Join the CLCC!;url=http://clccmusic.org/join_us.html;");
aI("text=Sponsor Us;url=http://clccmusic.org/sponsors.html;");
}

drawMenus();
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

One item I see that may or may not be a problem is you use of the word 'header' for a style definition. Header is a reserved word in the menu, and 'could' be getting it confused (I'm not the JS expert around here). However, I would suggest changing header to something else - mainMenu, or main, or whatever...

That said, I looked at the site in OS X/Safari, IE5.2.3, and NS7.1, and OS 9/IE5.1.7 with no problems at all in any of those. Don't have Windoze handy, so I can't check it for you there.

What RC of v5 are you running?
John
Neo
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 4:10 pm

Post by Neo »

On my PC it runs perfectly correct.
(IE 6.0 WinXP SP1)
Maybe this can help.
wkilc
Super Advanced
Super Advanced
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2003 9:28 pm

Post by wkilc »

Thanks.

I'm not sure what is meant by RC... I have seen several references to that in this forum. How do I check? I followed the link to download the .zip file for the script after I purchased a re-seller's 10-pack license last weekend, and used that as the basis for all my sites. So I assume what I have is the latest and greatest.

If the 'header' style definition might be causing problems, I can change that easy enough on all 10 of my sites. Anyone else think this is the way to go?

Thanks again for everything.

~Wayne
Neo
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 4:10 pm

Post by Neo »

RC means Release Candidate and is nowadays the specific version within V5
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

As of this message, current is...

Version 5.0 Release Candidate 14.0 Built: Thursday October 2 2003 - 9:44

Note that the Built date is also important, as that can change while the RC number remains the same. You will find this at the top of the code in the comments area.
John
wkilc
Super Advanced
Super Advanced
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2003 9:28 pm

Post by wkilc »

Okay... so I am using:

Version 5.0 Release Candidate 12.0 Built: Saturday September 27 2003 - 15:32.

So I download and replace only my 'milonic_src.js' files?

Whoops... when I download from http://milonic.com/download.php, I still see 'Saturday, September 27 2003', rather than the newer one.

Thanks.

~Wayne
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

Not sure what the problem is there. Andy will have to take a look.

Whenever you get a new release always replace all 3 of the menu code files (not your data file, of course).
John
User avatar
Maz
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 1717
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2003 11:39 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Post by Maz »

Is there any difference in download where it says menu 5 on a graphic or version - latest version?

maz
User avatar
Hergio
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 1123
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 7:46 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Post by Hergio »

The old menu I used was JAVA... so she must have JAVA enanbled if the old one worked... I assume... what do you think? She wasn't specific about the browser... I am going to take my best guess and say IE 5.5. Most definately IE, though.
Just my two cents, this menu uses JavaScript to render itself, not Java. Java and Javascript are two very different things. There name is just similar. See viewtopic.php?t=815#2830

Just so your clear in the future.
Dave Hergert
Software Engineer
"Helping to make the menu better, one :?: at a time."
wkilc
Super Advanced
Super Advanced
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2003 9:28 pm

Post by wkilc »

Okay... I now have details. To sum up:

I purchased the 10 pack license last weekend (several of my sites would probably qualify for free... but I want to support a good product)... implemented the menu on 10 sites in 2 days... (I'm actually a full time music teacher) the first complaint I heard was regarding:

http://www.clccmusic.org

The person having trouble viewing the menu is the group's president. (Figures.) She wrote:

The new menu, however, does not appear to be working - at least on my computer. What I see when I go to our site are two small up/down arrows in the upper right corner, underneath the member login. But clicking on these does nothing - therefore I can't navigate the site. Is it just my computer?

Convinced it was something simple on her end, I stopped by her house to see the problem first hand. I first checked her computer... Windows 98SE running IE 6.0.2800

She was running a Desktop Theme, but I defaulted it back to Standard Windows theme.

Ended task on every background application that could have been causing any conflicts. Cleared the cache and pulled up the page.

Sure enough... the menu did not load... the JAVASCRIPT error that IE recorded:

Line: 17
Char: 896
Error: Class Not Registered
Code: 0


Here's a screenshot:
http://www.clccmusic.org/milonic/milonic1.jpg

I'm still using RC 12 dated 9-27-03... when I tried to download RC 14 from http://milonic.com/download.php, I downloaded a .zip file which still contained RC 12 (menu_sample1.zip)

My next step was to check several of my other 9 sites from her computer... they all came up looking the same.... no menu... but a diminutive scroll bar where the menu should be.

Everything else that uses JAVASCRIPT (pop-ups.. etc.) seems to work okay.

Decided to pull up http://milonic.com on her computer... SAME PROBLEM. No menu... same error. That surprised me! Here's another screen grab.
http://www.clccmusic.org/milonic/milonic2.jpg

Check here browser settings... nothing that seeemed different from my settings at home:
http://www.clccmusic.org/milonic/milonic3.jpg

Any thoughts? I have tested the menu on several machines using the same browser as hers... works great.

If it helps, my menus are here:
http://www.clccmusic.org/java/

Thanks in advance...

~Wayne
User avatar
kevin3442
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2002 12:09 am
Location: Lincoln, NE
Contact:

Post by kevin3442 »

Hi Wayne,

You should probably have her install the latest update for IE6. If that doesn't do it, try a full install of IE6. My guess is that a crucial file (probably a .dll) is either corrupt, missing, or (more likely) has not been properly registered in the Windows registry. The site looks fine to me, BTW, on IE6/Win2k.

Hope that helps,

Kevin
wkilc
Super Advanced
Super Advanced
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2003 9:28 pm

Post by wkilc »

Thanks Kevin,

She had just run Windows Update before I arrived to work on her computer. (It had not worked correctly even prior to that.) If everyone is on agreement that her browser (or Windows Registry) is probably corrupt... then that's what I'll tell her. I am pretty sure she is under the impression I should not have upgraded the menu from the previous free menu I had acquired from another website. (Even though the prior menu didn't play well with anyone using Netscape 7.0... it worked for her... knowwhatimean?) I need to convince her that the problem really is just her computer and the rest of the world can see access the page better than before the changeover to Milonic. Just trying to prepare my argument.

Looks like RC 14 is now available from the .zip file on http://milonic.com/download.php ...thanks to whomever fixed that.

~Wayne
User avatar
Hergio
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 1123
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 7:46 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Post by Hergio »

I'd have to agree with the browser problem. Its too specific to her to have everyone else seeing it fine while she's having problems. Its actually been a problem before and people have cleared it up with a fresh install of IE, so our diagnosis isn't untested. ;) She should reinstall. If your still nervous, do a search on the v5 forum for IE and restall dlls and stuff like that, you should see where people have had problems and how they fixed them.

Also, I just need to say this. EXCELLENT troubleshooting! Its not often that I feel totally in-step with what someone was doing and trying to figure out as I did with you. Awesome job explaining things and useage of screenshots was perfect. I wish more people could explain things like that, but I also understand not everyone is as savvy as you probably are so its fine, but its refreshing every once in a while. Thanks! And thanks for supporting the menu and stickin with us!
Dave Hergert
Software Engineer
"Helping to make the menu better, one :?: at a time."
User avatar
kevin3442
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2002 12:09 am
Location: Lincoln, NE
Contact:

Post by kevin3442 »

so our diagnosis isn't untested
Got it! :lol:
User avatar
fredlongworthhighschool
Mega Advanced
Mega Advanced
Posts: 362
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2003 11:34 am
Location: Manchester, England.
Contact:

Post by fredlongworthhighschool »

If it's any help our school boxes running NT with IE5 don't show V5 of the menu.

But, stick IE6 on and there is no problem.

However, I really am going to try and push for a new browser, such as Mozilla or Avant.
Andy Davis
Web Designer & Smartboard Manager

Fred Longworth High School, Manchester, England.
wkilc
Super Advanced
Super Advanced
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2003 9:28 pm

Post by wkilc »

Thank you all.

I have installed RC 14 (versus RC 12), but I don't think that will solve her problem since she as unable to see the menu Saturday on http://milonic.com, which was using RC 14 at the time, I believe. I'll recommend she reinstall IE.

When you say that your machines cannot see v5 of the menu... do you mean my site or all versions of the milonic menu v5? Can it be that these mcahines are are imaged from one another and all are corrupt? (missing the dll files, etc.)

I guess the safest thing to do... I'm going to work on some site maps and hide a link to them under the menus, just in case people can't see the menu. That way peolpe can still navigate the site.

Thanks again.

~Wayne
User avatar
Andy
Milonic
Milonic
Posts: 3308
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Menu Developer
Contact:

Post by Andy »

We use <noscript> tags for displaying menus when the JavaScript menu fails.

You can see the source view from http://milonic.com for more details

Cheers
Andy
wkilc
Super Advanced
Super Advanced
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2003 9:28 pm

Post by wkilc »

FIXED!!! :D

Andy found a way around the faulty browser without having to re-install IE...

Andy wrote:

"The problem is that certain ActiveX security settings have been turned off. This browser will not be able to see any transitions or effects but the menu should work."

The menu now works with RC 15. How's that for fast?

Thank you!!! You guys rock!

~Wayne
User avatar
Hergio
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 1123
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 7:46 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Post by Hergio »

Hey you're very welcome. Nice job by Andy in nailing that one.
Thank you!!! You guys rock!
Man, if I had a nickel for everytime I've heard that, I'd have like, 10...15 cents! :lol: Thanks.
Dave Hergert
Software Engineer
"Helping to make the menu better, one :?: at a time."
Post Reply