Problems with positioning the menu

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
ny152
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2003 11:39 pm

Problems with positioning the menu

Post by ny152 »

With version 3.5 I used to position my menu like this:
var pos = (document.body.clientWidth - 833) / 2;
var hei = 90;
and then use the variables in the menu item string
addmenu(menu=[
"products",
hei,
wid,

etc.
However, I tried to use my "pos" and "hei" variables in version 5.0 but it does not work. The browser does not even let me declare the variables in the top of the the menu_data.js file.

Can anyone help me here?
User avatar
Maz
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 1717
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2003 11:39 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Post by Maz »

Probably something to do with classes, otherwise that would be top and left and screenposition or imagemap coordinates.

maz
User avatar
fredlongworthhighschool
Mega Advanced
Mega Advanced
Posts: 362
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2003 11:34 am
Location: Manchester, England.
Contact:

Post by fredlongworthhighschool »

Can you post a URL so we can see your page? It will help us to visualise how you are presenting your menu.
Andy Davis
Web Designer & Smartboard Manager

Fred Longworth High School, Manchester, England.
User avatar
Hergio
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 1123
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 7:46 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Post by Hergio »

Post a URL or your entire menu_data file...the one WITH the variables declared at the top and where you are using them below in your menu definitions.
Dave Hergert
Software Engineer
"Helping to make the menu better, one :?: at a time."
User avatar
kevin3442
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2002 12:09 am
Location: Lincoln, NE
Contact:

Post by kevin3442 »

Just a quick comment... it works for me. top=hei and left=pos. Perhaps, since pos is fairly common (ans assuming these are globals), you might try different var names, like mm_hei and mm_pos.

Kevin
Post Reply