Submenu invissible

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
voortmen
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 4:37 pm
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Submenu invissible

Post by voortmen »

If you visit my site: http://www.voortmen.tk.
Then you will see that the submenu under "Nieuws: (Dutch for news) is invissible.

Can anyone help me, thx anyway
Be yourself, there are plenty of others
User avatar
Maz
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 1717
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2003 11:39 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Post by Maz »

Start with the following.
Syntax error:

=http://members.chello.nl/t.vandervoort/helaas.htm*/;}

Permission denied:

=http://members.chello.nl/t.vandervoort/helaas.htm*/;}

Permission denied:

top.location.replace(location.href);

Regards,
-maz
voortmen
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 4:37 pm
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Post by voortmen »

It works on my pc, can you try again plz

I edited a little on the code.

Thx

http://www.voortmen.tk
Be yourself, there are plenty of others
User avatar
Maz
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 1717
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2003 11:39 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Post by Maz »

Still get js errors, I don't see the scripts, you probably have the scripts too far back so the layers are on top and you don't see the submenus. Same as putting the script in a div.

Sorry can't help more, I don't know js.

maz
voortmen
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 4:37 pm
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Post by voortmen »

The top frame is scorreble then u can see the submenu, but now the main frame is before the submenu and it has to be the opposite.

SOURCE CODE:



_menuCloseDelay=500 // The time delay for menus to remain visible on mouse out
_menuOpenDelay=150 // The time delay before menus open on mouse over
_followSpeed=5 // Follow scrolling speed
_followRate=40 // Follow scrolling Rate
_subOffsetTop=10 // Sub menu top offset
_subOffsetLeft=-10 // Sub menu left offset
_scrollAmount=3 // Only needed for Netscape 4.x
_scrollDelay=20 // Only needed for Netcsape 4.x


with(menuStyle=new mm_style()){
onbgcolor="#9FA1A3"; //Kleur Eroverheen :std 4F8EB6
oncolor="#ffffff"; //Tekst Eroverheen :std FFFFFF
offbgcolor="#DCDCDC"; //Kleur normaal :std DCE9F0
offcolor="#515151"; //Tekst normaal :std 515151
bordercolor="#296488"; // :std 296488
borderstyle="solid";
borderwidth=0;
separatorcolor="#DCDCDC"; //Lijntjes :std 2D729D
separatorsize="2";
padding=5;
fontsize="75%";
fontstyle="normal";
fontfamily="Verdana, Tahoma, Arial";
pagecolor="black"; // :std black
pagebgcolor="#82B6D7";
headercolor="#DCDCDC"; // :std 000000
headerbgcolor="#DCDCDC"; // :std ffffff
subimage="arrow.gif";
subimagepadding="2";
overfilter="Fade(duration=0.2);Alpha(opacity=90), Direction=135, Strength=5)";
outfilter="randomdissolve(duration=0.3)";
}


with(milonic=new menuname("Main Menu")){
style=menuStyle;
top=80;
left=190;
menuwidth="0%";
menualign="center";
alwaysvisible=1;
orientation="horizontal";
aI("text=Home;url=../home.htm;target=main;scourceframe=index.html;");
aI("text=Nieuws;showmenu=Nieuws;");
aI("text=Judo;url=../judo.htm;target=main;scourceframe=index.html");
aI("text=Fun;url=../fun.htm;target=main;scourceframe=index.html;");
aI("text=DVD's;url=http://www.dvdprofiler.com/mycollection ... get=_blank;");
aI("text=Links;url=../links.htm;target=main;scourceframe=index.html;");
aI("text=Contact;url=../contact.htm;target=main;sourceframe=index.html;");
}

with(milonic=new menuname("Nieuws")){
style=menuStyle;
overflow="scroll";
aI("text=Nieuws Oktober 2003;url=../nieuws/oktober03.htm;target=main;scourceframe=index.html?sampleid=1;");
aI("text=Nieuws uit deze maand;url=../nieuws.htm;target=main;scourceframe=../index.html?sampleid=2;");
}

drawMenus();
Be yourself, there are plenty of others
User avatar
Maz
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 1717
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2003 11:39 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Post by Maz »

Double check the style names you have, unless they have changed and I don't know it, I think menualign should be screenposition.

Menuwidth is confusing, I don't even think it works, so just take it out.

arrow.gif probably needs a path "/folder/images/arrow.gif";

borderwidth may be okay but you don't need it, check style names to be sure.

url paths will probably work like this ;url=/folder/folder/here.html;

I don't know this one? target=main maybe its okay.

Those are my suggestions unless someone else says something different?
Regards,
maz
voortmen
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 4:37 pm
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Post by voortmen »

Thx Maz, i changed the code but stil no different. The main frame must be under the menu instead of above.
Be yourself, there are plenty of others
Ian C
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 8:27 am

Post by Ian C »

Check out Andy's page at http://milonic.com/menu/frames/

You have to have the script calls in every page that will be loaded in your main frame. You do not appear to have the calls in your contents page.

Ian C
User avatar
kevin3442
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2002 12:09 am
Location: Lincoln, NE
Contact:

Post by kevin3442 »

I'd like to chime in, if I may...

Regarding errors:

(1) The syntax error reported by IE is caused by an invalid js assignment on line 15 of index.htm.

Code: Select all

if(!ie) { location.href="helaas.htm" *tpa=http://members.chello.nl/t.vandervoort/helaas.htm*/;}
You probably meant to comment out everything after "helaas.htm" but inserted a * instead of /*. This will, of course, affect the rest of your scripts until it is fixed.

(2) Your leeg.htm file has a second <body> tag defined, after the closing </html> tag.

Regarding your invisible submenu:

The problem with your submenu not appearing is this: The "Nieuws" submenu probably is opening, but since the bottom of your Main Menu aligns with the bottom of the "header" frame, the submenu will get clipped by the bottom edge of the frame (the dhtml elements, like others, will not cross the frame border). So, it's not really that the submenu appears "behind" the "main" frame, is is simply getting clipped by the bottom of the header frame. If, for example, you open only your headerr.htm file , by loading http://members.chello.nl/t.vandervoort/ ... header.htm, you'll see that the menus, including the "Nieuws" submenu, actually works; but it won't work across frame borders.

Ian C points to a goopd example of cross-frame use.
Ian C wrote:Check out Andy's page at http://milonic.com/menu/frames/...
But unfortunately, that particular example uses the version 3 menu, and it looks as if you are using version 5. As far as I know, v5 does not yet provide any "built-in" support for frames as v3 did. Don't know if v5 eventually will support frames; frames don't seem to be well liked around here ;). IMHO, it would be a good idea to build in support for cross-frame use down the road (OK... I'm ready... lemme have it!). But that doesn't help you now.

I can suggest a few things:

(1) Many people have abandoned frames in favor of iframes (but these still present some problems for various older browsers).

(2) Redesign the site so that frames are not used at all (I know you might not like that idea, but I figured I'd throw it out there since it would probably come up eventually)

(3) If your submenus are not too high, you could move the main menu to the top of the header frame, so that the submenus appear over the kop2.jpg image. If they are higher than the frame, then the bottom should still get clipped. To avoid that, you could set the menu property overflow=scroll; in your submenus, so that a scrollbar would appear in a submenu if it is too tall to fit within the frame. In ie, you could even control the appearance of the scrollbar using css.

(4) You could write your own js code to have an event in the header frame (e.g., clicking on a main menu item) call the menu system's popup() function in the main frame to open a submenu in the main frame. The keys there would be that the milonic .js code would have to be present in the main frame (because that's where you run the popup() function), and also knowing how to call js code across frames. Getting an even in one frame to open a menu in another isn't a huge challenge, as long as your cross-frame calling syntax is correct. The tricky part for you would be positioning the submenus correctly, since your entire site is centered, so that the main menu changes position relative to the origin when the user resizes the page. YOu could do it, but there'd be a lot of coding involved. This approach was discussed by Dave (Hergio) in this thread, so I won't go over details here.

Hope you find some help in all that,

Kevin
voortmen
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 4:37 pm
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Post by voortmen »

Thx Kevin i will give it a try....
Be yourself, there are plenty of others
Post Reply