making a menu title inactive

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
dianajenna
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 8:23 pm

making a menu title inactive

Post by dianajenna »

When I have a submenu, I would like the main menu title to be inactive - like on the Milonic site. However, mine go to the "This page cannot be found" screen if you click on the main menu title instead of one of the fly-out titles. I'm sure there is a simple solution, I just don't know what it is. The url is http://www.cogpension.org Can you help? Thanks!
User avatar
bobwill
Mega Advanced
Mega Advanced
Posts: 229
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2002 3:03 pm
Location: Kansas
Contact:

Post by bobwill »

Cannot not access your URL. I got the following message.

This domain is not configured for this service. Please contact the webmaster to have it enabled.
dianajenna
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 8:23 pm

Post by dianajenna »

Sorry - I reposted above. Hopefully, it will work now.
User avatar
kevin3442
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2002 12:09 am
Location: Lincoln, NE
Contact:

Post by kevin3442 »

(Hope you don't mind me jumping in Bob)

If you don't want a menu item to do anything when it's clicked, then don't specify a url= in the aI() definition. Take your "Memo Series" item for example:

Code: Select all

aI("text=Memo Series;showmenu=menu_memo;url=../memo/memo_series.asp;status=Memo Series;")
The above definition tells the menu system to open a submenu called menu_memo when moused over, and go to ../memo/memo_series.asp when clicked. To eliminate the onclick part, eliminate the url=...; setting from the definition, like so:

Code: Select all

aI("text=Memo Series;showmenu=menu_memo;status=Memo Series;")
Note that the reason you get a "page not found" error is that http://www.cogpension.org/memo/memo_series.asp does not exist (i.e., you also have a path issue in these URLs)

Hope that helps,

Kevin
dianajenna
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 8:23 pm

Post by dianajenna »

Kevin - Yes! It worked. Thank you very much.
User avatar
bobwill
Mega Advanced
Mega Advanced
Posts: 229
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2002 3:03 pm
Location: Kansas
Contact:

Post by bobwill »

Not a problem Kevin. I did not have time yesterday to make a follow up comment.

Looks like the problem is fixed.

I was going to talk about path issues. Saw one link that that two "URL's=" on the same line.

Also if the root directory is "www.cogpension.org" then all you have to do is make your address to files in the root directory start with a "/" i.e.

aI("text=Root Files;url=/myfile.asp;status=My File;")

or if it is in a subdirectory then use the following.

aI("text=Sub Files;url=/subdir/subfile.asp;status=Sub Directory;")
dianajenna
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 8:23 pm

Post by dianajenna »

Thanks Bob for the additional info. I really appreciate it.
Post Reply