follow scroll problem

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

follow scroll problem

Post by Ruth »

I finally got back home and downloaded rc28, checked my finally completed menu and hit a snag. I have a horizontal menu fixed top position and a small 'button' that follows scroll which you click to take you back to the menu.

Code: Select all

with(milonic=new menuname("main1")){
style=main1;
top=35;
left=1;
alwaysvisible=1;
followscroll=1;
itemwidth=50;
align="center";
aI("text=<span onMouseOut=\"changeText(this,'MENU')\" onMouseOver=\"changeText(this,'Click')\">MENU</span>;url=#top;");
}
WIth the rc28 the button disappears off the bottom of the screen as soon as you begin to scroll down.
I checked back on releases and it works in rc14 [I dont' have any until 17] and not in 17 on. The problem occurs in NN4.79 so to stop fiddling with this static browser and yet still have milonic on it, I thought about calling

Code: Select all

<SCRIPT language=JavaScript src="arrayV3.js" type=text/javascript></SCRIPT>
<SCRIPT language=JavaScript src="mmenu.js" type=text/javascript></SCRIPT>
for NN4 and for all others calling

Code: Select all

<SCRIPT language=JavaScript src="milonic_src.js" type=text/javascript></SCRIPT>	
<script	language=JavaScript>
if(ns4)_d.write("<scr"+"ipt language=JavaScript src=mmenuns4.js><\/scr"+"ipt>");		
  else _d.write("<scr"+"ipt language=JavaScript src=mmenudom.js><\/scr"+"ipt>"); 
</script>
	<SCRIPT language=JavaScript src="v5.js" type=text/javascript></SCRIPT>
Is this possible and if so could someone help me with how I do it? I have no idea how to do it. Thanks so much. Here's the test page for it if anyone has netscape 4+. http://www.poems2u.com/test/v5test.htm

Ruth
PS: Happy Holidays ~ and Congrats on the poll, Milonic is far and away the best menu out there IMHO. :D
Last edited by Ruth on Tue Dec 02, 2003 5:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

Sorry, Ruth. No more NS4.x. One of the other guys will look at it for you.
John
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Post by Ruth »

Thanks John, but what I was really interested inn was calling the v3 on the NN4, then I can just leave it there and not bother with it and have v5 being used for all the other browsers out there, and v3 would never be called except for the NN4 browsers. Does that make sense, well :lol: I guess only if it's possible to do.

Ruth
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

Perhaps this is a bug in the ns4 module of v5. I'll drop Andy a note to take a look.

Meanwhile, would you kindly post your original message to the bugs topic?

Thanks.
John
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Post by Ruth »

Did that. And updated it here to include the problem, and then found that somehow it ended up posted here AGAIN instead of in the bug section. I'm going to try again to post it in the bug section. Lord, sometimes I feel real dumb :?

Ruth
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

innkeeper9 wrote:Lord, sometimes I feel real dumb :?
There's a large group, including me, in that line :!: :D
John
User avatar
Andy
Milonic
Milonic
Posts: 3308
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Menu Developer
Contact:

Post by Andy »

Twas a bug and tis fixed.

Cheers
Andy
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Post by Ruth »

Then do we need to redownload the rc28 because I don't see a new release version yet? It is doing it with the rc28 version I have. Thanks
Ruth
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

There were 2 RC28 releases, Ruth (at least). Current (as of now) is Wednesday November 26 2003 - 11:54. Check the comments at the top of any menu code file. The RC AND built date are both important, as frequently there will be multiple releases under the same RC.
John
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

OK, here's a first (at least, as far as I've seen). Andy did post a new ns4 module dated today - the others remain as they were.

So, mmenuns4.js is now at Version 5.0 Release Candidate 28.0 Built: Wednesday December 3 2003 - 12:08 GMT.
John
Post Reply