Problems trying to re-locate menu bar

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
daviddiy
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 11:36 pm
Location: Raritan, NJ 08869
Contact:

Problems trying to re-locate menu bar

Post by daviddiy »

http://doityourself.com/menu/1.htm is a beta test page.
Do not worry, many of the links are bad (linking to shtml pages in new subheadings while originals were in htm)

Want to create a table where menu bar that would be located at the top of the table. I would like to be able to put a leaderboard ad - 728 by 90 above it when it is sold. Right now having problems moving the menu bar. Any solutions?
http://doityourself.com
Proud to be featured as one of the 50 Best Webites in The World by Time Magazine - June 2003.
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

Right now it's where you told it to be...

Code: Select all

top=10;
left=10;
I suspect left is where you want it (maybe?), so change the top value to move it down.

Also (probably not causing a problem, but just syntax)...

Code: Select all

aI("text=       Sitemap          ;url=/sitemap.htm;");
Spaces between your spaces (huh?) are not necessary...

Code: Select all

aI("text=   Sitemap     url=/sitemap.htm;");
...and the double ;; can come out as well.
John
User avatar
Maz
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 1717
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2003 11:39 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Post by Maz »

that's confusing, & n b s p ; then there should be another ; before url.

& n b s p ; ; url

Why not use padding instead

padding="0px 5px 0 5px";

The order is clockwise: top 0, right 5pixels, bottom 0, left 5pixels.

Or align="center"

Or itemwidth="30px";

Spaces are okay, you might want to even items out later.

Regards,
maz
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

maz wrote:that's confusing, & n b s p ; then there should be another ; before url.
You are correct, of course. Gettin' old (as we discussed). Code would then be...

Code: Select all

aI("text=   Sitemap     ;url=/sitemap.htm;");
As you mentioned, padding is a better idea.
John
daviddiy
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 11:36 pm
Location: Raritan, NJ 08869
Contact:

Thank You - but still a small question remains...

Post by daviddiy »

The positioning worked for no banner on top. We are cleaning up our code towards style sheets.

One problem is if we add an ad tag to the top on some pages for a 728 by 90 leaderboard, we have to use a different version of the tag on those pages or the menu overlaps the ad. Can the menu be positioned relative to a link within the table, not to the page?
http://doityourself.com
Proud to be featured as one of the 50 Best Webites in The World by Time Magazine - June 2003.
User avatar
kevin3442
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2002 12:09 am
Location: Lincoln, NE
Contact:

Re: Thank You - but still a small question remains...

Post by kevin3442 »

daviddiy wrote:...Can the menu be positioned relative to a link within the table, not to the page?
Yes. Have a look at http://milonic.com/menusample9.php, which is meant to address exactly this issue... relative positioning by embedding the menu in a table. Your banner ad could either appear as a link within the same cell as the meu, or in a separate cell above the menu's cell (which would be empty when you want no banner).

Hope that helps,

Kevin
Post Reply