Distance between two menu item

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
User avatar
Martin
Mega User
Mega User
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2002 11:57 pm
Location: Zollikon, Switzerland

Distance between two menu item

Post by Martin »

Hi there,

Maybe you remember my topic about bulding a two row menu. In meantime i made it, but it looks not so nice.

This is the site:

http://www.pyramide.ch

Now I would like to have a smal gap between the three items. They should look like single buttons.

I tested some params, but i didn't find the right way.

Any idea?
cheers

====================================
Merlin Consulting
Martin Schaible
Bahnhofstrasse 27
CH-8702 Zollikon
====================================
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Post by Ruth »

You can try this.

Code: Select all

aI('text=;itemwidth=3;offbgcolor=#ffffff;onbgcolor=#ffffff;separatorsize=0;');
put that between the 1st and 2nd item and another one between the second and 3rd item. That will put a 3px white space, however, you'll have to do something with the bottom border. I tried a few things but no matter what I did I couldn't get the 1px goldish colored border to disappear from these two items. Though I don't think it looks too bad.

Ruth
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Post by Ruth »

I worked on this some more and nothing I do seems to get rid of the border. I did try one other thing which works perfectly, but instead of trying to space the items, made each item its own menu. I tried it with the first one and tested it in Netscape 7.1, Opera 7.11 and IE 5.5 and it works fine.

Code: Select all

with(milonic=new menuname('NavStart1')){style=NavHomeStyle;top=350;left=180;itemwidth=148; etc.;
aI('text=Zentrum für Plastische Chirurgie; etc.;');
}
with(milonic=new menuname('NavStart2')){style=NavHomeStyle;top=350;left=332;itemwidth=148;etc.';
aI('text=Brustkrebszentrum<br>&nbsp;; etc. NOTE THIS NEEDS A LINEBREAK AND NON BREAKING LINE SPACE in order to match height of the other two;');
}
with(milonic=new menuname('NavStart3')){style=NavHomeStyle;top=350;left=484;itemwidth=148;  etc.';
aI('text=Zentrum für Kiefer-/Gesichtschirurgie; etc. ;');
}
I put in the linebreak in the second one instead of coding an item height so it would match exactly.

Those are the only two ideas I have to do this, either the inserted blank items, or dividing the items into their own menus which you can then space as you wish.

Ruth
Post Reply