Dynamic menu calculation via Javascript from an array

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Bischoff
Beginner
Beginner

Dynamic menu calculation via Javascript from an array

Post by Bischoff »

Hi,
for the following problem I would need your help. I am new to the menu system and also rather new to Javascript. So, I would be happy if somebody could help finding my way.

I am programming an online course. The course data is in XML. It comes to my xsl via an array. The menu structure and all the other data is in an array with several dimensions. It looks like this:

var records = new Array();
var textnr = new Array();
<xsl:for-each select="esys2export/record">
records[<xsl:value-of select="position()"/>] = new Array();
records[<xsl:value-of select="position()"/>]["textnr"] = unescape("<xsl:value-of select="textnr"/>");
records[<xsl:value-of select="position()"/>]["menulevel1"] = unescape("<xsl:value-of select="menulevel1"/>");
records[<xsl:value-of select="position()"/>]["menulevel2"] = unescape("<xsl:value-of select="menulevel2"/>");
records[<xsl:value-of select="position()"/>]["menulevel3"] = unescape("<xsl:value-of select="menulevel3"/>");
records[<xsl:value-of select="position()"/>]["titel"] = unescape("<xsl:value-of select="titel"/>");
records[<xsl:value-of select="position()"/>]["text"] = unescape("<xsl:value-of select="titel2"/>");

</xsl:for-each>

Now I have all I need in the array records(). Lets say I get 10 entries in the array records:

records[textnr][menulevel1][menulevel2][menulevel3][titel][text]

records[1][001][Session 1][Introduction][plain][Some Titel][blabla]
records[2][002][Session 1][Main Part][Goal of Session 1][Some Titel][blabla]
records[3][003][Session 1][Main Part][Let's learn][Some Titel][blabla]
records[4][004][Session 1][Wrap up][Lessons learned][Some Titel][blabla]
records[5][005][Session 2][Introduction][plain][Some Titel][blabla]