Netscape form error

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
tcwebmaster
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:14 pm
Location: Tennessee, USA
Contact:

Netscape form error

Post by tcwebmaster »

I am having another problem with Netscape 4.8

I have a combo/select menu as part of a form on the page, and when the DHTML menu expands, the combo/select menu stays on top, so that none of the choices in the DHTML menu are visible. How do I make the DHTML menu stay visible all the time when it expands? This only seems to be a problem with Netscape 4.xx.

This has been a big problem for me. Thanks.
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Post by Ruth »

I asked in the other post, could you possibly post a test page, the on which you are seeing the problem so I can see the layout? I have netscape 4.79 so I can check to see what's happening, but I also need to see the layout just in case it's the result of the netscape4x browser being a static browser, unlike the later versions 4x using a totally different system [underlying programming code] Thanks.
Ruth
tcwebmaster
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:14 pm
Location: Tennessee, USA
Contact:

Here is a link

Post by tcwebmaster »

http://www.tusculum.edu/admission/AddFinAid.html

This is a very rough page, the images have not been optimized, but you can see how the Admissions dropdown menu is covered by the form element when viewed in Netscape 4.8. Thanks for your assistance.
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Post by Ruth »

Hi,
The problem is a result of the browser, not any error in it, but it's not something the menu can overcome. Netscape 4x is a static browser. There are a couple of things you can do to avoid that. Since you didn't put all the drop down categories in the menu I don't know how long the others are. Based on the one that is there I made changes to that table which has the financial aid stuff in it. I moved the form down, and to make sure it stayed in position I put it in the table with the two images, adding a top row with colspan=3. With the form in that position it is still visible when the page is loaded and the bottom of the drop menu ends just before the form. This is the code.

Code: Select all

<TD vAlign=top width=556 bgColor=#ffffff height=650>
            <TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=556 border="0">
              <TBODY>
              <TR>
                <TD vAlign=top width=12></TD>
                <TD vAlign=top align=left width=534><BR clear=all><IMG 
                  hspace=5 src="smiling_student.png" 
                  align=right vspace=5> 
                  <DIV class=bodytext align=left><br><br>
                  <P>The <B>Financial Aid Office</B> is designed to be a 
                  resource for families of all of our current and prospective 
                  students. Our friendly staff offers counseling and other 
                  assistance to help make it financially possible for students 
                  to attend Tusculum College. Financial aid works together with 
                  your family's financial resources so that we can assemble a 
                  financial aid package for you.</P>
                  <P>The Financial Aid Office is located on the second floor of 
                  Virginia Hall. The Office is open from: Monday - Friday, 8:00 
                  a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Appointments are recommended for financial 
                  aid counseling, so that our staff can prepare the proper 
                  information for your individual package.</P></DIV><br>
                  <DIV class=pageInset align=left>
                  <TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=311 border="0">
                    <TBODY><tr><td colspan="3"><SPAN class=bodytext>
                  <FORM name=faidform><SELECT 
                  onchange="MM_jumpMenu('parent',this,0)" name=select> <OPTION 
                    selected>Financial Aid Directory</OPTION> 
                    <OPTION>---------------------------------------</OPTION> 
                    <OPTION value=http://www.tusculum.edu/faid>From the 
                    Director</OPTION> <OPTION 
                    value=http://www.tusculum.edu/faid/steps.html>Steps in 
                    Applying for Financial Aid</OPTION> <OPTION 
                    value=http://www.tusculum.edu/faid/faidest.html>Financial 
                    Aid Estimator</OPTION> <OPTION 
                    value=http://www.tusculum.edu/faid/forms/endowschp.doc>Endowed 
                    Scholarship Application</OPTION> <OPTION 
                    value=http://www.tusculum.edu/faid/workstud.doc>Workstudy 
                    Program</OPTION> <OPTION 
                    value=http://www.tusculum.edu/admission/scholarship04.html>Scholarship 
                    Competition Application</OPTION> <OPTION 
                    value=http://www.tusculum.edu/faid/faid_forms.html>Financial 
                    Aid Forms</OPTION></SELECT> </FORM></SPAN></td></tr>
                    <TR vAlign=top>
                      <TD align=middle width=145><IMG src=""></TD>
                      <TD align=middle width=21></TD>
                      <TD align=middle width=145><IMG 
                        src="faid_fafsadeadline.png"></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>&nbsp;&nbsp;</DIV>
The other option is what another person who has a school site did. This is the post about it http://milonic.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3692 It's pretty long, in effect the final result was to have netscape 4x ignore the menu and a text link menu was put in using javascript. Here is the pageso you can see it, but you'll have to go in netscape4x to see it, otherwise you only see the milonic menu. If you don't have 4x you could look at the source, the area you want begins

Code: Select all

<!-- #BeginLibraryItem "/Library/mmenu.lbi" --><script   language="javascript"> 
you'll see the code is placed in a table cell, the design is similar to yours, so you could do that and put the netscape menu in that light green cell over which the menu sits. It would only show in netscape 4x browsers. Hope some of this is a help.

Ruth
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

Here are a couple of small syntax problems for you, although these shouldn't affect the overall operation (but why not get it right?)... :)

You have, for example...

Code: Select all

aI("text=Adult;showmenu=adult;;status=Adult;separatorsize=1");
That, and all other lines, should be...

Code: Select all

aI("text=Adult;showmenu=adult;status=Adult;separatorsize=1;");
Note the removal of one of the ; from the pair (showmenu=adult;;status=Adult), and the addition of a ; at the end (separatorsize=1; ).
John
User avatar
kevin3442
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2002 12:09 am
Location: Lincoln, NE
Contact:

Post by kevin3442 »

TC,

Oops... I just posted to an earlier thread you started on the same geeral topic. Hadn't gotten to this one yet (catching up after being gone a while). You still might find the post in the other thread useful.

Kevin
Post Reply