Menuwidth is not correct

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
multiplexed
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 5:44 pm

Menuwidth is not correct

Post by multiplexed »

My site is http://www.masterworknetworks.com.

How do stretch this thing to fill up the rest of the table cell. I'm using menuwidth="100%" but it isn't being applied correctly. I'm using milonic 5.26.

Also, that crack thingy is back between the top, side graphics. If anyone knows offhand how to fix that, it would make my day to squash that bug.

There must be like a hundred "webdesign for rookies" type websites out there, but where are they?

Thanks for any help.
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Post by Ruth »

You have a miscode in the table. You forgot to put colspan="6" so the menu is in the first column and the space you see is the other 5 columns you didn't span. Also, you need to read the information about putting the menu in a table. There are problems if you put it that way on the mac. Relative Position, Table Bound, menu sample#9

Also, if you want the text to spred out over the table, then in the mainmenu declare itemwidth="20%" [I just divided by 5 for the total items. If you want to be more specific you can declare a particular width in each item i.e. itemwidth="15%; in the home, itemwidth="x%" and so on for each item.

Ruth
multiplexed
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 5:44 pm

Post by multiplexed »

Thanks for the colspan fix and itemwidth clarification. Those both helped a lot.

By this...
If you want to be more specific you can declare a particular width in each item i.e. itemwidth="15%; in the home, itemwidth="x%" and so on for each item.
Did you mean I could maybe make "Home" smaller than the rest of the menuitems? I tried the itemwidth as suggested, but that changed the dropdown items width, and not the menu items width.
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Post by Ruth »

Hi,
To do that you need to remove the itemwidth=20% from the part with alwaysvisible, orientation. Then put a percentage width into each item. As far as I know it won't work putting it in one item while leaving the 20% in the top. You leave the menuwidth=100% where it is. So, it might look like this.

Code: Select all

with(milonic=new menuname("Main Menu")){
style=menuStyle;
alwaysvisible=1;
orientation="horizontal";
position="relative";
menuwidth="100%";
itemheight=50;
align="center";
aI("text=Home;itemwidth=12%;url=http://www.masterworknetworks.com/;status=Masterwork Networks Small Business Networking;");
aI("text=Small Business;itmewidth=18%;showmenu=SMB;");
aI("text=Safeguarding Data;itemwidth=18%;showmenu=Data;");
aI("text=Home Use;itemwidth=16%;showmenu=Consumer;");
aI("text=Knowledge Center;itemwidth=18%;showmenu=KC;");
}
That's just an example, I have no clue on the percentages.

Also, I mentioned the sample9. Your menu may very well be breaking up in some browsers, i.e. Macs especially using IE. You really need to go to that sample page and read the note about putting the menu in a table.

Finally, there's been an update 5.3. I suggest that you go to the topic in this help section CURRENT MENU CODE, look for watch this topic and mark it to watch, then you will get automatic email notification of updates. Make sure when you update you keep your 3 existing files in case your site has an issue with the newest update.

Ruth
Post Reply