Opera ignores itemwidth property

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
User avatar
leonard
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:24 am
Location: Flagstaff, Arizona
Contact:

Opera ignores itemwidth property

Post by leonard »

Hello all,

Opera seems to ignore the "itemwidth" property on main menu and works on sub-menus. Has anyone found this to be true? No problems in IE6 or Mozilla. I have tried with and without " " and many other things to no avail?

Capture Examples:
http://meteorcrater.sciencedata.net/milonic/ie6.jpg
http://meteorcrater.sciencedata.net/milonic/mozilla.jpg
http://meteorcrater.sciencedata.net/milonic/opera.jpg

Versions:
Opera Version 7.23
Milonic Version 5.35

Example Code:

// Main Menu

with(milonic=new menuname("mainmenu")){
top=0;
left=0;
alwaysvisible=1;
followscroll=1;
orientation="horizontal";
menuwidth=762;
itemwidth=125;
style=menuStyle1;
aI("text=Meteor Crater Home;url=/home.htm;status=Back to the Meteor Crater home page");
aI("text=    Visitor Center;showmenu=viscen;status=Visitor Center;pointer=default");
aI("text=    RV Park;showmenu=rvpark;status=RV Park;pointer=default");
aI("text=    Events;showmenu=events;status=Events;pointer=default");
aI("text=    Links;showmenu=links;status=Links;pointer=default");
aI("text=    Contact Us;showmenu=contacts;status=Contact Us;pointer=default");
}

// Visitor Center

with(milonic=new menuname("viscen")){
itemwidth=125;
style=menuStyle2;
aI("text=Visitor Center Overview;url=/visitorcenter/overview.htm;status=Visitor Center Overview");
aI("text=MC Interactive Learning Center;showmenu=more;status=Meteor Crater Interactive Learning Center;pointer=default");
aI("text=Theater;showmenu=theater;status=Theater;pointer=default");
aI("text=Rim Tour;status=Rim Tour");
aI("text=Gift Shop;showmenu=moregift1;status=Gift Shop;pointer=default");
aI("text=Subway Restaurant<br>at the Crater;status=Subway Restaurant at the Crater");
}

Thanks,

Leonard

Science Data :D
and
Northern Arizona University :(
User avatar
Maz
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 1717
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2003 11:39 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Post by Maz »

This might be a silly little thing, try putting a semicolon ; at the end of each item.

Ha! this should be a question for John ;)

maz
User avatar
leonard
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:24 am
Location: Flagstaff, Arizona
Contact:

Post by leonard »

I just double checked each line and I have a semicolon at the end of each item.

Thanks :)

Leonard :?
User avatar
Maz
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 1717
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2003 11:39 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Post by Maz »

To make sure, you have this?

Code: Select all

aI("text=Meteor&nbsp;Crater&nbsp;Home;url=/home.htm;status=Back to the Meteor Crater home page;"); 
You have menuwidth=762, itemwidth 125x6=750 , that leaves you 12px short?

Is the width of the page 762? or should you be using "100%" ?

You can still use padding="0 3 0 3"; whatever you want, that is top, right, bottom, left instead of the &. and/or separatorpadding=3; for example.

Maybe I'm not understanding the problem.

maz
User avatar
leonard
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:24 am
Location: Flagstaff, Arizona
Contact:

Post by leonard »

User avatar
Andy
Milonic
Milonic
Posts: 3308
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Menu Developer
Contact:

Post by Andy »

Please try version 5.36 - It should help fix the itemwidth problem.

-- Andy
Marc-Andre.Roberge@mus.ul
Super Advanced
Super Advanced
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 7:23 pm
Location: Québec, QC, Canada
Contact:

Post by Marc-Andre.Roberge@mus.ul »

I complained once about the problem of having a tiny space on the left of the first column of my horizontal menu; I think it was more than a year ago. I was glad to update my menu to v. 5.36, which at last solved that cosmetic problem.
User avatar
leonard
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:24 am
Location: Flagstaff, Arizona
Contact:

Thanks for the quick response.

Post by leonard »

Version 5.36 fixed the width problem. Thank you Andy. It also fixed a Opera disappearing border problem, which I do not notice any longer. As a bonus, now everything seems fairly stable down to NS4.79 .

Thanks Maz, I was missing semicolons on the last item inside the quote. These "); have been changed to ;"); . Although it did not correct the Opera width error, but, version 5.36 sure did.

Thanks All for your help,

Leonard :D

Science Data
and
Northern Arizona University
Post Reply