Menu conversion failed

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
cmer
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 4:57 pm

Menu conversion failed

Post by cmer »

For an unknown reason, the menu conversion from 3.0 to 5.0 failed. No error is reported by the converter but the menus simply don't work.

Also, is there a way to have the menu appear just below a text link? I'd rather not use absolute positionning because of the way different browsers render stuff.

Thanks

PS: Here's my 3.0 menu...


---------------- CUT HERE ---------------

menunum=0;menus=new Array();_d=document;function addmenu(){menunum++;menus[menunum]=menu;}function dumpmenus(){mt="<script language=javascript>";for(a=1;a<menus.length;a++){mt+=" menu"+a+"=menus["+a+"];"}mt+="<\/script>";_d.write(mt)}

function WindowWidth() { if (document.body && document.body.clientWidth) { window.innerWidth = document.body.clientWidth; } return window.innerWidth; }
function GetOffset() { if ((WindowWidth() - 760) / 2 > 0) { return (WindowWidth() - 760) / 2; } else { return 0; }}

if(navigator.appVersion.indexOf("MSIE 6.0")>0)
{
effect = "Fade(duration=0);Alpha(style=0,opacity=100);Shadow(color='#777777', Direction=135, Strength=3)"
}
else
{
effect = "Shadow(color='#777777', Direction=135, Strength=3)" // Stop IE5.5 bug when using more than one filter
}

timegap=500
followspeed=5
followrate=40
suboffset_top=10;
suboffset_left=10;

style1=["ffffff","336699","FFB010","003366","003366",12,"normal","normal","Arial,Verdana, Helvetica",3,"",0,"66ffff","000099","","","","","",]

addmenu(menu=["menu1",140,"offset=-272",200,1,"center",style1,0,"left",effect,,0,,,,,,,,,,
,"Présentation du camp","/r-fr/infos/",,"Présentation du camp",0 // "Description Text", "URL", "Alternate URL", "Status", "Separator Bar"
,"Accréditations","/r-fr/infos/accreditation.asp",,"Accréditations",0
,"Un camp tout étoile","/r-fr/infos/4etoiles.asp",,"Un camp toute étoile",0
,"La Guimauve d\'Or","/r-fr/infos/guimauvedor.asp",,"La Guimauve d\\'Or",0
,"Coup de coeur","/r-fr/infos/coupdecoeur.asp",,"Coup de coeur",0
,"Concours Le Fer D\'Or","/r-fr/infos/ferdor.asp",,"Concours Le Fer D\\'Or",0
,"Visite guidée","/r-fr/visite/",,"Visite guidée",0
,"Témoignage d\'une Ranchéra","/r-fr/infos/temoignage.asp",,"Témoignage d\\'une Ranchéra",0
,"Indications routières","/r-fr/infos/route.asp",,"Indications routières",0
,"Contactez-nous","/r-fr/infos/contact.asp",,"Contactez-nous",0
])

addmenu(menu=[
"menu2",140,"offset=-171",200,1,"center",style1,0,"left",effect,,0,,,,,,,,,,
,"Camp de séjour","/r-fr/services/sejour/",,"Camp de séjour",0
,"Camp de jour","/r-fr/services/jour/",,"Camp de jour",0
,"Accueil de groupes","/r-fr/services/groupes/",,"Accueil de groupes",0
,"École d\'équitation","/r-fr/services/ecole/",,"École d\\'équitation",0
,"Fin de semaine - Action de Grâces 2004","/r-fr/services/fds/actiondegrace.asp",,"Fin de semaine - Action de Grâces 2004",0
//,"Fin de semaine - Camp des Fleurs 2004","/r-fr/services/fds/camp-des-fleurs.asp",,"Fin de semaine - Camp des Fleurs 2004",0
])

addmenu(menu=[
"menu3",140,"offset=-87",200,1,"center",style1,0,"left",effect,,0,,,,,,,,,,
,"Équitation (notre spécialité!)","/r-fr/activites/equitation/",,"Équitation",0
,"Activités au sol","/r-fr/activites/basketball/",,"Activités au sol",0
,"Activités nautiques","/r-fr/activites/canot/",,"Activités nautiques",0
,"Activités dans les airs","/r-fr/activites/escalade/",,"Activités dans les airs",0
])

addmenu(menu=[
"menu4",140,"offset=-24",200,1,"center",style1,0,"left",effect,,0,,,,,,,,,,
,"Camp de séjour 2004","/r-fr/inscription/sejour2004/",,"Camp de séjour 2004",0
,"Camp de jour 2004","/r-fr/inscription/jour2004/",,"Camp de jour 2004",0
//,"Camp de séjour 2004 (bientôt)","",,"Camp de séjour 2004 (bientôt)",0
//,"Camp de jour 2004 (bientôt)","",,"Camp de jour 2004 (bientôt)",0
//,"Camp des Fleurs 2004","/r-fr/services/fds/camp-des-fleurs.asp",,"Camp des fleurs 2004",0
,"Action de Grâces 2004","/r-fr/services/fds/actiondegrace.asp",,"Action de Grâces 2004",0

])

addmenu(menu=[
"menu5",140,"offset=49",200,1,"center",style1,0,"left",effect,,0,,,,,,,,,,
,"Visite guidée","/r-fr/visite/",,"Visite guidée",0
,"Liste d\'envoi","/r-fr/mailinglist/",,"Liste d\\'envoi",0
,"Babillard d'emplois","/r-fr/emplois/",,"Babillard d\\'emplois",0
])

addmenu(menu=[
"menu6",140,"offset=99",200,1,"center",style1,0,"left",effect,,0,,,,,,,,,,
,"Foire aux questions","/r-fr/faq/",,"Foire aux questions",0
,"Comment nous contacter?","/r-fr/infos/contact.asp",,"Comment nous contacter?",0
])


dumpmenus()
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

URL? There's more than just this we need to look at.

What error are you getting when trying to run the page with the menus?

OS? Browser?

Also, always post code using the [code][/code] tags. Much can get lost when not doing so.
John
cmer
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 4:57 pm

Post by cmer »

http://www.moncamp.com (old v3 menu).

Once converted, I don't see any menu in the browser, and no error is given.

Sorry about the code tag... I didn't know.

Thanks!
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Post by Ruth »

cmer,
What we need, if possible is for you to put up a test page with the converted menu on it so we can see what's happening. The old menu is working so, we need to see why the new one isn't. Is it possible that the paths to the 3 program files [milonic_src.js, mmenudom.js and menuns4.js] is incorrect?

Ruth
cmer
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 4:57 pm

Post by cmer »

User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Post by Ruth »

None will show since you haven't told any of them to be alwaysvisible=1; Also, if you leave the offsets and positions as they are the menus will overlap.

Ruth
cmer
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 4:57 pm

Post by cmer »

Ruth,

Where do I change that?
cmer
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 4:57 pm

Post by cmer »

I did find where to change it, but now the opened menu is always there. I need a dropdown menu... please help.

cmer
User avatar
Maz
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 1717
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2003 11:39 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Post by Maz »

Hi,

You want alwaysvisible on the main menu, then the drop down submenu's shouldn't have it, because they will only be seen when they are moused over.

Was there something else?

maz
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Post by Ruth »

cmer
I suggest you might take a look at the read me files that came with the menu that you downloaded, and the beginners' section here on the forum which gives an explanation of the menu, how to do styles, how to do forms. What you have right now is a menu data file that implies that all the menus in it are main menus because you have screenposition and top and left positions set for all of them. Since you converted the files one of those has to be the main menu, that's the one you set to alwaysvisible, and set it's position on the page, then get rid of the screen positions and top, left positions in the other menus.

Ruth
Post Reply