Please help

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
cdnieto
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 4:05 pm

Please help

Post by cdnieto »

Hello, first sorry about my english
i have a problem, i had put a milonic menu the sample 20. Well if i see in resolutions like 800x640 it´s ok
but if the resolution is 1024 then the menus apears on the left.
You can see that in http://www.cdnieto.com/nacional2.htm
you can see this page in 800 and in 1024 px and you can see the problem what can i do?
i also try tu use the cell exanple that is in the web but it dosen´t work
please help me
thank you very much
User avatar
fredlongworthhighschool
Mega Advanced
Mega Advanced
Posts: 362
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2003 11:34 am
Location: Manchester, England.
Contact:

Post by fredlongworthhighschool »

You need to look at relative positioning, see sample 9.

It's because you have set your main page to be centred. You don't notice this in 800x600 because it fits the page correctly, but in 1024x768 it looks nicer to have it spaced equally.

http://milonic.com/menusample9.php
Andy Davis
Web Designer & Smartboard Manager

Fred Longworth High School, Manchester, England.
User avatar
kevin3442
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2002 12:09 am
Location: Lincoln, NE
Contact:

Post by kevin3442 »

Hi,
fredlongworthhighschool wrote:...It's because you have set your main page to be centred....
Andy is correct... it's because the content on the page is centered, but the main menu is absolutely positioned. It will always be at the same left and top coordinates the way you have it. Andy's suggestion of relative positioning (table bound menu) is also a good one. There is also another alternative.

THe menu system lets you position the menu at an offset from the browser window's center. To do so in your case would only involve a few simple changes. In your menu_datan.js file, change the top of the "Main Menu" definition from:

Code: Select all

with(milonic=new menuname("Main Menu")){
style=background;

top=125;
left=5;
alwaysvisible=1;
...
aI(...)
}
to

Code: Select all

with(milonic=new menuname("Main Menu")){
style=background;
screenposition="center";
top=125;
left="offset=-309";
alwaysvisible=1;
...
aI(...)
}
You can change the value of the offset to fine tune the position. Now, your menu should remain where you intended it to be.

Hope that helps,

Kevin
cdnieto
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 4:05 pm

Post by cdnieto »

thank you, thank you very much to kevin and andy.
Finally i choose the second option, kevin´s option it was more easy :)

Thank you a lot and sorry again about my english
User avatar
fredlongworthhighschool
Mega Advanced
Mega Advanced
Posts: 362
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2003 11:34 am
Location: Manchester, England.
Contact:

Post by fredlongworthhighschool »

I didn't know about the offset from centre! That will help making my new site easier!

Nice one Kevin!
Andy Davis
Web Designer & Smartboard Manager

Fred Longworth High School, Manchester, England.
Post Reply