Retrieving texts of selected items

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
davidarnoult
Advanced
Advanced

Retrieving texts of selected items

Post by davidarnoult »

Hello,

I am a beginner with this menu and I try to write in my asp page the value of the current selected items.

This can be very effective to show where we are with navigation side bar as texts like

Menu1 > Item1

I have found a global variable _itemRef but when i write it, its value is always -1.

<script language="JavaScript" type="text/JavaScript">
document.write (_itemRef);

</script>

However this menu is great!
Thanks for help !

David
John
 Team
 Team

Post by John »

Try here, or possibly here, or maybe here.

And thank you for the kind words!
John
davidarnoult
Advanced
Advanced

Yes but...

Post by davidarnoult »

Thanks for your links but I knew them already...

To write the value of current selected item in a web page, do i need to create an object of the menu first with menu = gmobj("milonic"); and them write -itemRef ??? Or do i need to modify your source codes ?
Why _itemRef is always equal to -1 in my case ?

If I succeed in helping and finding a solution for me, you can be sure I am buying your menu right now!

Thanks

David

here is contents of _mi :
itemRef=-1
0 0,Home,/,,Home,#006699,#ffffff,#000000,#ffffff,,#CCCCCC,1,10,normal,,Arial,,,black,#CCCCCC,#000000,#ffffff,0,,,,,1,20,,,,,,,,center,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,80,,,,,,,,#000000,solid
1 0,Products,/products/,products,,#006699,#ffffff,#CCCCCC,black,,#CCCCCC,1,10,normal,,Arial,,,black,#CCCCCC,#000000,#ffffff,0,,,,,1,20,,,,,,,,center,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,80,,,,,,,,#000000,solid
2 0,Services,/services/,services,,#006699,#ffffff,#000000,#ffffff,,#CCCCCC,1,10,normal,,Arial,,,black,#CCCCCC,#000000,#ffffff,0,,,,,1,20,,,,,,,,center,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,80,,,,,,,,#000000,solid