Use of includeTabIndex

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
procweb
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 2:58 pm

Use of includeTabIndex

Post by procweb »

I noticed that the 5.50 release included a new Global property (includeTabIndex). I believe this property provides the ability to enable or disable tab stops within the menu; something I would really like to do (see the release notes below). Can someone provide a code snippet that shows how this global variable is properly set to toggle the tabindex of the menu?

Thanks,

procweb


*********************************************************
Version: 5.50
Minor improvements - Wednesday 13th October 2004
Added GLOBAL property "includeTabIndex" for setting the tab index of menu items
Added extra check for _CFix to stop calling blank.html even though it was not required

Download: http://milonic.com/download.php?version=5.50
*********************************************************
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Post by Ruth »

I don't find it listed in the Global properties yet, so that section probably hasn't been updated to reflect it. However, at the top of that section it says:

Code: Select all

The Global Properties will change the way ALL menus and menu items within a menu system works. All properties are type Boolean (true or false). 

Each of the properties must be set using a logic value. Logic values that can be used for these properties are true, false, 1 (one) or 0 (zero) 

It is advisable to place these properties in the menu_data.js file toward the top of the file before any menus and menu items have been declared, this helps to remove any confusion or conflicts that may occur.
Hope that helps.

Ruth
User avatar
Andy
Milonic
Milonic
Posts: 3308
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Menu Developer
Contact:

Post by Andy »

tabIndex may not be used anymore - can't remember if it's been taken out yet.

The reason is that it's not a cross browser feature and is only really needed for keypress functionality.

If you visit milonic.com you'll see that keypress actions are happening even without the need for tabIndex.

Hope this helps
Andy
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

Andy, will you still be able to get 508 compliance (when you get there) without tabindex? In many situations it's necessary for proper flow.
John
User avatar
Andy
Milonic
Milonic
Posts: 3308
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Menu Developer
Contact:

Post by Andy »

I've coded in stuff that will do it for us. The reason I took it out was because of Netscape and Mozilla's lack of proper support for tabIndex. Needed to find a more cross browser way.

Check it out for yourself, using the tab key should take you through each tabbable object one by one, including the menu

Cheers
Andy
Post Reply