What does mmenudom.js do?

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
lhayes@corus.jnj.com
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: New Brunswick, New Jersey

What does mmenudom.js do?

Post by lhayes@corus.jnj.com »

Can anyone describe what this JS file is for and what happens if you leave it out in an implementation?

Thanks in advance!
User avatar
kevin3442
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2002 12:09 am
Location: Lincoln, NE
Contact:

Post by kevin3442 »

Hi,

mmenudom.js provides much of the menu system's base functionality, for just about all browsers except NS4 (for that, you have mmenuns4.js).
lhayes@corus.jnj.com wrote:what happens if you leave it out in an implementation?
Then you won't have an implementation ;)

Cheers,

Kevin
lhayes@corus.jnj.com
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: New Brunswick, New Jersey

What does mmenudom.js do?

Post by lhayes@corus.jnj.com »

Thanks.... :)

So, does it need to be present on the server only or included wherever milonic_src is included in the code?
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

If you loaded any web page on your server, but never provided the world with the URL, nobody would ever see it. You need to call all the code files, and the _data file, on every page that uses the menu. Many times the easiest way is with an include.
John
lhayes@corus.jnj.com
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: New Brunswick, New Jersey

What does mmenudom.js do?

Post by lhayes@corus.jnj.com »

Thanks John! :)

Some of the users of our new Milonic menuing system are experiencing errors with code that previously existed in the app that called a JavaScript module to help them populate date fields.

I'm trying to find out if the introduction of the Milonic menu has caused a JavaScript related conflict, perhaps something JVM related and I was wondering if the mmenudom.js had anything to do with it.

One of our users reverted from IE 6 to IE 5.5 and was able to get around the problem, but I know that SMS is only going to overlay the browser again at some time in the future.

My tech people want to switch to a competing product, like OpenCube and my concern is that we would not be getting to the bottom of the problem, only trading one problem for another or perhaps getting the same problem.

Larry
:?:
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

Hi Larry -

Have you got a URL where we can possibly see the conflict you mention?

The Milonic code is very carefully written, and plays nicely with most other JS files - as long as they are written properly.

As for your tech folks, tell 'em to take a nap and we'll get to the bottom of this. Again, a URL would really help.
John
User avatar
kevin3442
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2002 12:09 am
Location: Lincoln, NE
Contact:

Re: What does mmenudom.js do?

Post by kevin3442 »

Hi Larry,
lhayes@corus.jnj.com wrote:...I'm trying to find out if the introduction of the Milonic menu has caused a JavaScript related conflict, perhaps something JVM related and I was wondering if the mmenudom.js had anything to do with it...
Just to help eliminate one avenue of investigation... Javascript and the Java Virtual Machine (JVM) are unrelated. They do not interact at all. The JVM is used to run Java applets and application. Javascript (the scripting language with which the menu system was written) code is interperted and executed by your browser and its components. Javascript and Java are two completely separate languages, with unfortunately similar names. The good news is, you don't have to worry about the JVM!

As John said, if you can give us a url to your site (or, if it's an intranet, a url to a public test page), then we can figure out what's going on.

Cheers,

Kevin
lhayes@corus.jnj.com
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: New Brunswick, New Jersey

What does mmenudom.js do?

Post by lhayes@corus.jnj.com »

Thanks John :!:

The site in question is an intranet site, so I can't provide a working link to it, but I do have code snippets to test the hypothesis of whether they're playing well together.

Here's the date-picking code:

<input type=text name=effDate value=\""+effDate+"\" size=20 maxlength=20 onFocus=this.select() onChange=javascript:dateAlert();this.value=\"\">" + "&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;<input type=button value=\"Select Date\" onClick=javascript:SetDateVar(\"effDate\") onMouseOver=window.status=\"Calendar\";return true" + " onMouseOut=window.status=\"\";return true>

function dateAlert()
{
alert("Please use the select date button to select a date instead of typing in the date")
}

function SetDateVar(datefld)
{
dateVar = datefld
OpenDateSelect()
}

If there's anything missing that is needed, just let me know. One of the reported behaviors is that the calendar opens but does not allow any selection to be made.

Larry
;)
User avatar
kevin3442
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2002 12:09 am
Location: Lincoln, NE
Contact:

Post by kevin3442 »

Hi Larry,

Where did you get the code snippet you posted? I only ask because it has some aspects (e.g., this part: <b><input type=text name=effDate value=\""+effDate+"\"</b>) that make me wonder if it's being written to the page dynamically; e.g., inside one or more calls to document.write(), or using some server-side script. This code alone won't really help. Also, there's at least one more function definition that doesn't appear, OpenDateSelect().

It'd be better if you could post an example page that exhibits the problem somewhere that is publicly accessible. If you can't do that, then let's start by posting all of the code from a page that has the problem.

When posting code, it's best if you put it inside of BBS's "code" tags, e.g.:
<b>[code]</b>
...
my posted code here
...
<b>[/code]</b>

Note the square braces instead of html-like angle braces.

Cheers,

Kevin
lhayes@corus.jnj.com
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: New Brunswick, New Jersey

What does mmenudom.js do?

Post by lhayes@corus.jnj.com »

Thanks Kevin. :)

I've asked the developer for the entire body of code and will post it when it becomes available.

Larry
:oops:
Post Reply