Help?

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
smashf18
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 12:58 am

Help?

Post by smashf18 »

Hi all. I am working on a website for my fraternity and trying to get the horizontal menubar to work before applying for the free license. I am having a lot of problems trying to get the mouseover to work. I keep getting error messages linking to the _menuCloseDelay &
_menuOpenDelay. The error says the two are undefined. Also, in frontpage, the if/else statements are brown as well as the entire path for the menubar. There appears to be no formatting linking to the menu_data.js file. Any suggestions or ideas? Any help is appreciated.

Will
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

Please post a URL (as requested).
John
smashf18
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 12:58 am

Requested URL

Post by smashf18 »

Here is a temporary URL I am using until the site is published:

http://www.angelfire.com/pa5/axpomegaphi5/

thanks!
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

Your _data file is pretty messed up. Some reading on proper syntax would be in order.

Code: Select all

with(main=new menuname("omegaphi")){
Should be (ALL instances)...

Code: Select all

with(milonic=new menuname("omegaphi")){

Code: Select all

style="menuStyle";
Should be...

Code: Select all

style=menuStyle;
No quotes around the style name.

Code: Select all

aI("text=Undergraduate Brothers; showmenu=undergrad);
Should be...

Code: Select all

aI("text=Undergraduate Brothers;showmenu=undergrad;");
Note missing closing " and no space between items (e.g., Brothers; show...). Also, all aI statements should close as shown - ;"); .

Code: Select all

aI("text=National History;url=http://www.alphachirho.org/" target="_blank");
Should be...

Code: Select all

aI("text=National History;url=http://www.alphachirho.org/;target=_blank;");

Code: Select all

style=menuStyle";
Should be...

Code: Select all

style=menuStyle;
Remove the trailing quote.

Also, move all the JS menu calls up to be the FIRST items after body.

A little less speed and a lot more care is suggested... :)
John
smashf18
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 12:58 am

Thank you

Post by smashf18 »

Thanks for the fixes. They are appearing now, just having a slight problem with the submenus, but I am sure it is related to sloppiness.
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

Yeah, you could say that. :roll:

The subs events, fun, and links, called by your main menu, are not defined anywhere.
John
smashf18
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 12:58 am

Post by smashf18 »

Those are not the ones I am having a problem with. Eventually I will creat pages for those. Right now as far as I can see I can't get under Omega Phi the Undergrads and Grads to appear. Did I make a mistake in the coding?

I really appreciate the help. I am sort of learning javascript "on the fly."

Will
User avatar
kevin3442
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2002 12:09 am
Location: Lincoln, NE
Contact:

Post by kevin3442 »

Hi Will,

The "undergrad" and "grads" submenus are not showing because of the following code at the top of your menu_data.js file:

Code: Select all

_subOffsetTop="10"
_subOffsetLeft="-10"
These are numeric variables, not string variables. So, remove the double quotes that you have around the values (making the values numeric). Like so:

Code: Select all

_subOffsetTop=10
_subOffsetLeft=-10
That should do it.

FYI: the reason the "omegaphi" submenu opened and the others didn't is because the top and left menu offsets only apply to submenus thath are opened from a vertical parent menu. If your main menu had been vertical, the omegaphi menu also would not have opened.

Cheers,

Kevin
smashf18
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 12:58 am

Post by smashf18 »

Ah. So much better. Thanks for the help. It is greatly appreciated. I guess I just need to learn javascript better and slow down when I am typing everything.

This menu really is the greatest out there.
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Post by Ruth »

Hi,
You said you were new to the menu. You might take a look at the Beginners' Guide. It really is very basic, a pretty quick read with some examples for some basic things.

Ruth
Post Reply