Firefox/Netscape problem with submenue

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
Bernhard Lenger
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 4:35 pm
Location: Waging/Germany
Contact:

Firefox/Netscape problem with submenue

Post by Bernhard Lenger »

Hello,

I created two different menues styles, the name of main menue style is "haupt_menuStyle", the name of the submenue style is "neben_menuStyle". The main menue itself is built in a table cell. It´s a vertical menue, the position is relative.

With Internet Explorer all works fine:

Image

The problem are Firefox 1.0 and Netscape 7.2, the positon of the first submenue is not correct:

Image

It would be great if you would have an idea for solving the problem.

Best regards

Bernhard Lenger
http://www.lenger.de


Here the main (haupt_menuStyle) and the sub (neben_menuStyle) style:

Code: Select all

_menuCloseDelay=500          
_menuOpenDelay=0           
_subOffsetTop=0             
_subOffsetLeft=-4           
 

with(haupt_menuStyle=new mm_style()){
 
onbgcolor="#efF6ff";
oncolor="#14659d";
offbgcolor="#BED7EE";
offcolor="#14659d";
bordercolor="#BED7EE";
borderstyle="solid";
borderwidth=0;
separatorcolor="#14659d";
separatorsize="0";
itemwidth=135;
padding=2;
fontsize="10px";
fontstyle="normal";
fontweight="bold";
fontfamily="Verdana, Arial";
pagecolor="14659d";
pagebgcolor="#efF6ff";
headercolor="#000000";
headerbgcolor="#ffffff";
onborder='1px solid #14659d';
image="../../../blank_10.gif";
pageimage="../../../blank_6.gif";
pagesubimage="../../../pfeil_r_technik_hauptmenue.gif";
imagepadding=0
 
subimage="../../../pfeil_r_technik_hauptmenue.gif";
onsubimage="../../../pfeil_r_technik_hauptmenue.gif";
 

subimagepadding="0";
 
}
 

with(neben_menuStyle=new mm_style()){
 
onbgcolor="#efF6ff";
oncolor="#14659d";
offbgcolor="#BED7EE";
offcolor="#14659d";
bordercolor="#f4FBff";
borderstyle="solid";
borderwidth=1;
separatorcolor="#BED7EE";
separatorsize="1";
padding=2;
fontsize="10px";
fontstyle="normal";
fontweight="bold";
fontfamily="Verdana, Arial";
pagecolor="14659d";
pagebgcolor="#efF6ff";
headercolor="#000000";
headerbgcolor="#ffffff";
onborder='1px solid #14659d';
subimage="../../../pfeil_r_technik_hauptmenue.gif";
onsubimage="../../../pfeil_r_technik_hauptmenue.gif";
image="../../../blank_6.gif";
pageimage="../../../blank_6.gif";
pagesubimage="../../../pfeil_r_technik_hauptmenue.gif";
imagepadding=0
subimagepadding="0";
 
}
 

Here the in the table cell embedded main menue:

Code: Select all


<td width=100%">
 
<SCRIPT TYPE="text/javascript">
 
with(milonic=new menuname("Main Menu")){
style=haupt_menuStyle;
position="relative";
menuwidth="100%";
 
menualign="left";
alwaysvisible=1;
 
overflow="scroll";
 
aI("text=Flugzeuge;showmenu=Flugzeuge;");
aI("text=Hubschrauber;showmenu=Hubschrauber;");
aI("text=Autos;showmenu=Autos;");
aI("text=Schiffe;showmenu=Schiffe;");
aI("text=Elektroantriebe;showmenu=Elektroantriebe;");
aI("text=Elektronik;showmenu=Elektronik;");
aI("text=Verbrenner;showmenu=Verbrenner;");
aI("text=Zubehör;showmenu=Zubehör;");
 

}
drawMenus();
</SCRIPT>
 
Here some sub menues:

Code: Select all

with(milonic=new menuname("Flugzeuge")){
style=neben_menuStyle;
overflow="scroll";
aI("text=Scale-Segler;showmenu=Vorfertigung Scale-Segler;");
aI("text=Segler/E-Segler&nbsp;&nbsp;;showmenu=Vorfertigung Segler/E-Segler;");
aI("text=Motormodelle;showmenu=Modellalphabet Motormodelle;");
aI("text=Slow-/Parkflyer;showmenu=Modellalphabet Slow-/Parkflyer;");
aI("text=Jet´s;url=neu_web_store.pl?page=micr1.htm&&cart_id=;");
aI("text=EPP-Modelle;showmenu=Modellalphabet EPP-Modelle;");
}
 
with(milonic=new menuname("Vorfertigung Scale-Segler")){
style=neben_menuStyle;
overflow="scroll";
aI("text=Fertigmodelle&nbsp;&nbsp;;showmenu=Modellalphabet Scale-Segler Fertigmodelle;");
aI("text=Holzbaukästen&nbsp;&nbsp;;url=neu_web_store.pl?page=scah1.htm&&cart_id=;");
}
 

with(milonic=new menuname("Vorfertigung Segler/E-Segler")){
style=neben_menuStyle;
overflow="scroll";
aI("text=Fertigmodelle&nbsp;&nbsp;;showmenu=Modellalphabet Segler/E-Segler Fertigmodelle;");
aI("text=Holzbaukästen&nbsp;&nbsp;;url=neu_web_store.pl?page=segh1.htm&&cart_id=;");
}
 
ETC., ETC.
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Post by Ruth »

Do you have a test page with the menu on it so we can test it? Thanks

Ruth
Bernhard Lenger
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 4:35 pm
Location: Waging/Germany
Contact:

Post by Bernhard Lenger »

Ruth wrote:Do you have a test page with the menu on it so we can test it? Thanks

Ruth
Hi Ruth,

here it is:

http://www.lenger.de/cgi-bin/neu_web_store_2.pl

Best regards
Bernhard
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Post by Ruth »

I am unable to see what version of the menu you have. Also, I don't know about putting all the menu code inside of script tags in the head of the document. I tried doing it using mine, changing the license number and putting in the newest version but I didn't get a menu at all. So, I deleted all the code, put the calls for the menu right after the body tag, putting all the style and submenu codes back into a data.js file leaving the main menu in the table as it is, used the newest version, eliminated the menuwidth="100%"; and overflow="scroll"; and the problem disappeared.

Ruth
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

Hi Bernhard -

Couple of things I'm not happy with.

This is Firefox...
Image
The page came up this way - didn't touch any menus or anything. Note the blue line extending up through the canopy of the jet from the left column. I'm wondering if there's something wrong in your table that might be affecting things.

Also, it appears you have plopped the menu code directly into your page instead of using the supplied JS calls, AND have removed all the Milonic copyright notices (a definite no-no).
John
Bernhard Lenger
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 4:35 pm
Location: Waging/Germany
Contact:

Post by Bernhard Lenger »

Hello,

@Ruth
So, I deleted all the code, put the calls for the menu right after the body tag, putting all the style and submenu codes back into a data.js file leaving the main menu in the table as it is, used the newest version, eliminated the menuwidth="100%"; and overflow="scroll"; and the problem disappeared.
Thank you very much for your efforts.

I use the version 5.691. Now I tried it on the same way like you, but nothing changed, I have still the same problem with Firefox and Netscape. Please could you send these from you modified files per e-mail to me? It´s info@lenger.de.

@ John

Thank you very much, too.
The page came up this way - didn't touch any menus or anything. Note
the blue line extending up through the canopy of the jet from the left
column. I'm wondering if there's something wrong in your table that
might be affecting things.
No problem, if the script runs over my local server. This problem is only actual, if the script runs "real" on our webspace. After reloading the page, the blue line disappears. And it´s only a Firefox problem.
Also, it appears you have plopped the menu code directly into your page instead of using the supplied JS calls,
Yes and no. I use a shopping cart perl script and in this script the JS calls don´t run. Don´t know why. So I placed a "place holder" in the html-file and the JS code in the perl-file. If the perl script (the neu_web_store.pl) starts, it fills the plade holder in the html-file with JS code.
AND have removed all the Milonic copyright notices (a definite no-no).
The "neu_web_store_2.pl" is a only trial version. You can be sure, that the final version will include the copyright, of course.

Best regards
Bernhard




[/quote]
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Post by Ruth »

Hi Bernhard,
I finally got it to work with the new version in the head like you have yours, which I see by the last post you need to have since you're using perl.

To fix the problem, you have to upgrade to the newest version of the menu 5.715. Then change the main menu coding to this at the top of it

Code: Select all

with(milonic=new menuname("Main Menu")){
style=haupt_menuStyle;
position="relative";
menualign="left";
alwaysvisible=1;


You eliminate the menuwidth="100%" and the overflow="scroll" . I did try it leaving in the overflow and there doesn't seem to be a problem, but since it's in a table, it's not going to use that, the table is going to expand down however many items you put in it, so I think it's better to leave out what isn't going to be used, less things to have conflicts in any browsers.

If you remove those codes and don't upgrade, the menu will work in Netscape and Firefox, and it will offset the submenus but NOT all the way tot he edge of that table, only a few pixels, that's why you have to update.

Keep the version you have now someplace just in case.

Ruth
Post Reply