Horizontal menu display expands in IE6 far than normal

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
msoden
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 4:20 pm
Location: Virginia
Contact:

Horizontal menu display expands in IE6 far than normal

Post by msoden »

I have installed several milonic Menus. I have been noticing that on some PCs with IE6 that the horizontal menu will expand beyond normal limits.

Example: The menu will start at these coordinates and my PC will stretch 400px across like it should and look perfect. On another PC it will stretch 800px. This happens in rare cases; however it is a little embarrasing when you are showing your client their new web site and it happens. Do you know what could be going wrong? It only happens on certain PC's. I have not found any commonality.

left=265;
top=127;

Here is my code.

_menuCloseDelay=500;
_menuOpenDelay=150;
_subOffsetTop=-2;
_subOffsetLeft=-2;
projectid=1;



with(menuStyle=new mm_style()){
bordercolor="#999999";
borderstyle="solid";
borderwidth=0;
fontfamily="Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif";
fontsize="73%";
fontstyle="normal";
headerbgcolor="#ffffff";
headercolor="#000000";
offbgcolor="transparent";
offcolor="#DFDEDF";
onbgcolor="transparent";
oncolor="#958D9E";
outfilter="randomdissolve(duration=0.3)";
padding=8;
pagebgcolor="transparent";
pagecolor="black";
separatorcolor="#999999";
separatorsize=0;

subimagepadding=3;
}

with(menuStyle2=new mm_style()){
bordercolor="#999999";
borderstyle="solid";
borderwidth=1;
fontfamily="Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif";
fontsize="73%";
fontstyle="normal";
headerbgcolor="#DFDEDF";
headercolor="#000000";
offbgcolor="#5B5964";
offcolor="#FFFFFF";
onbgcolor="958D9E";
oncolor="#222222";
outfilter="randomdissolve(duration=0.3)";
padding=3;
pagebgcolor="transparent";
pagecolor="black";
separatorcolor="#999999";
separatorsize=0;
subimage="images/arrow.gif";
subimagepadding=3;
overfilter="Fade(duration=0.2);Alpha(opacity=90);";
}

with(milonic=new menuname("Main Menu")){
alwaysvisible=1;
left=265;
top=127;
orientation="horizontal";
style=menuStyle;
aI("text=Home;text=Home;url=index.htm;status=Arista Laboratories");
aI("text=About Arista;url=about.htm;showmenu=about;status=Arista Laboratories About Arista;");
aI("text=Services;url=services.htm;showmenu=services;status=Arista Laboratories Services;");
aI("text=Quality;url=quality.htm;showmenu=quality;status=Arista Laboratories Quality;");
aI("text=Client Login;status=Arista Laboratories Client Login;");
aI("text=Links;url=links.htm;status=Arista Laboratories Links;");
aI("text=Contact Us;url=contact.htm;status=Arista Laboratories Contact Us;");
}

with(milonic=new menuname("about")){
overflow="scroll";
style=menuStyle2;
aI("text=Company History;url=history.htm;")
aI("text=Locations Directions;showmenu=locations;")
aI("text=Client Testimonials;url=testimonials;")
aI("text=Fequently Asked Questions;url=faq.htm;")
aI("text=Careers;url=careers;")

}

with(milonic=new menuname("services")){
style=menuStyle2;
aI("text=Smoke Constituent Testing;url=smoketesting.htm;");
aI("text=Toxicological Testing;url=toxtest.htm;");
aI("text=Custom Testing;url=customtesting.htm;");
aI("text=Online Services;url=online.htm;");
aI("text=Offical Testing Reference Tables;showmenu=tables;url=http://forum.milonic.com/;");

}

with(milonic=new menuname("quality")){
style=menuStyle2;
aI("text=ISO 17025;url=iso.htm;");
aI("text=GLP Compliance;url=glpcompliance.htm;");
aI("text=Testing Methods;url=testingmethod.htm;");
aI("text=Smoking Capabilities;url=capabilities.htm;");
aI("text=Locations;showmenu=locations;");
}

with(milonic=new menuname("request")){
style=menuStyle2;
aI("text=Request Information;url=http://milonic.com/login.php;");

}

with(milonic=new menuname("locations")){
style=menuStyle2;
aI("text=United States;url=http://milonic.com/login.php;");
aI("text=England;url=http://milonic.com/mylicenses.php;");
}

with(milonic=new menuname("tables")){
style=menuStyle2;
aI("text=United States;url=http://milonic.com/login.php;");
aI("text=Canada;url=http://milonic.com/mylicenses.php;");
aI("text=Brazil;url=http://milonic.com/myinvoices.php;");
}

drawMenus();
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Post by Ruth »

We can't tell which version of the menu you have. Open your milonic_src.js file and check the version. I remember that there were a couple of bugs to do with issues like you are mentioning and they were fixed in later releases. Make sure you are using the newest version.

Ruth
msoden
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 4:20 pm
Location: Virginia
Contact:

Post by msoden »

Here's the versions. When I saw the problem this morning, I went to my personal site and sure enough the same problem different version. I appreciate what ever advise you can give.

Version 5.715 and Version 5.47

MS
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Post by Ruth »

It wouldn't make sense that the old version would all of sudden start doing something like this. I can't reproduce it, but I don't have IE6. One thing I would check is the style sheet. Usually, the first thing I do is remove style sheets and see if the problem disappears because that means somehing, usually padding, or margin or something to do with table parameters, is in conflict somehow.

Someone with IE6 will have to test other issues.

Ruth
msoden
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 4:20 pm
Location: Virginia
Contact:

Post by msoden »

Ruth,
Thank you for the time. I have only seen this problem on a couple of machines. One of course being the client. So it is very difficult to replicate.

MS
User avatar
kevin3442
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2002 12:09 am
Location: Lincoln, NE
Contact:

Post by kevin3442 »

Hi MS.

Gave it a quick try w/ IE6 and didn't get the problem. FWIW, the only think I noticed wron after a quick glance through your code is that the "Home" item in your Main Menu has text=Home;text=Home; in the aI() string. You should get rid of one of them. Also, you might want to end the aI() string for that item with a semicolon (like your other items), although that's a fairly minor thing and probably of no consequence. I doubt that either of these would explain the problem.

Kevin
Post Reply