Overfilter: Scroll?

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
rich_a1
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2005 8:35 pm

Overfilter: Scroll?

Post by rich_a1 »

Is there any way to get the "scrolling" effect using the overfilter property? I tried to work with the GradientWipe property, but it's not giving me the effect I want.

I'm trying to mimic this menu behavior: http://www.criticalmass.com/
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Post by Ruth »

Do you have a menu, or at least the data file and the page html so I can see how yours is set up? I have a couple of things I think might do something pretty similar but without seeing the menu, I don't know.

Ruth
rich_a1
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2005 8:35 pm

Post by rich_a1 »

Yes. You've seen my page before in another post.
Last edited by rich_a1 on Sun Mar 06, 2005 6:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Post by Ruth »

Howdy,

OK, I'm going to post all the answers here, though I'll also post at the other thread so if someone searches on border they'll get the answer there.

1. The reason your border shows is because you have margin=2. This is only an analogy, not exact but: think of your menu as a poster board colored that pretty blue, and then think of the items as separate things colored the same but cut out of say a magazine, and you posted each to the board. When you set margin at 2px in the main menu, it places a 2px edge around the item you 'pasted' to the board. You have padding set at 1 for that style. I elimated the margin=2 and changed the padding to 3 that kept the size and eliminated what looked like a border.

2. To get the effect you want this is what you need to do, in each submenu set top="offset=20"; You would put that here:

Code: Select all

with(milonic=new menuname("Samples")){
margin=2;
style=XPMenuStyle;
top="offset=20";
You can figure out how much space you want between the main and submenu, don't do too much or it will close before they can get a mouse on it.

Then set the overfilter as the following:

Code: Select all

overfilter="GradientWipe(WipeStyle=1, size=1.00, motion='Forward', duration=1.5);Alpha(style=0, opacity=90);Shadow(color='#999999', direction=135, strength=4)";
outfilter="fade(duration=0.1)";
That goes in your style definition for the XPMenuSTyle.

There is another option which gives something similar and I don't know which you would like.

Code: Select all

overfilter="Blinds(bands=1, direction='Down', duration=1.5);Alpha(style=0, opacity=90);Shadow(color='#999999', direction=135, strength=4)";
There is also a filters demo so you can experiment with various things. It doesn't have the bbands=1 as an option however for the Blinds filter.

One final note. In your submenus, if you want them to be the same size as the main menu item, you have to figure in both the margin and the padding on both sides of the menus so the difference should be around 10 px. That won't be exact but close. I think your itemwidth, menuwidth for the submenus should be someplace around 105px.

Hope that helps.

Ruth
rich_a1
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2005 8:35 pm

Post by rich_a1 »

Great, thanks!
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Post by Ruth »

It looks really good. But, isn't there always a but?? I would make the blinds duration a bit slower, .5 instead of .2, it doesn't really seem to be 'expanding' down it goes so quick on IE5.5

Ruth
Post Reply