target=_blank/new wouldn't open in new window

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
User avatar
alvsky
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 2:42 pm

target=_blank/new wouldn't open in new window

Post by alvsky »

Hi,
I want my two links to open in new window but they wouldn't.

Here is the code for those two menu items:

Code: Select all

$mmMenu->addItemFromText("target=_blank;text=KONTAKT;url=http://www.aikidozg.com/kontakt.html;offcolor=#ffffff;separatorsize=0;");	

$mmItem = new mItem();
$mmItem->addItemElement("text", "FORUM");
$mmItem->addItemElement("url", "http://forum.aikidozg.com");
$mmItem->addItemElement("target", "_new");
$mmItem->addItemElement("title", "Aikido društvo ZAGREB - Forum");
$mmItem->addItemElement("offcolor", "ffffff");
$mmMenu->addItemFromItem($mmItem);			
the page is http://www.aikidozg.com

Please help!! because I'm now desperate :(
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

The code you have posted is not for the Milonic DHTML menu system.
John
User avatar
alvsky
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 2:42 pm

Post by alvsky »

Sure it is.
I got it from Millonic web page and it is the php version.
File i downloaded is menu_sample2_ver5_731.zip and this kind of code can be found under extras/php.

Please look at the source code of http://www.aikidozg.com

I am really stuck here, and I really need help about this.
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

You're right, of course. Sorry 'bout that (it's early here!).

Right offhand I don't see a problem, but the PHP guys will have to take a look for you. Hang in there...
John
User avatar
alvsky
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 2:42 pm

Post by alvsky »

Found what's causing the problem.
It's the css style sheet.
My site is built on <B>jello piefecta</B> style sheet, and when the menu is inside the <B>expander</B> id, target property of the menu is for some reason ignored.

If anyone else had this situation, I would appriciate some help.
User avatar
alvsky
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 2:42 pm

Post by alvsky »

Solved it!!
I set position=absolute and it helped.
But... I think that is not a solution, that is kind of workaround.
The question is why it doesn't work with position=relative?
BTW the menu is positioned inside a div tag, not table.
Does this make teh difference?
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

alvsky wrote:Solved it!!
Great!
alvsky wrote:BTW the menu is positioned inside a div tag, not table.
Does this make teh difference?
Oh, yeah! The menu definitely does not like being inside a div.
John
Post Reply