tooltip error on mouseover - but I'm not using tooltips

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
kexik_white
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 10:41 am
Contact:

tooltip error on mouseover - but I'm not using tooltips

Post by kexik_white »

JavaScript error appears if you move on item, which call popup menu, but definition for this item is missing in data file.

Line: 21
Char: 8397
Error: '_m[...].tooltip' is null or not an object
Code: 0

Try move mouse over link "t-zones"
http://t-mobile.cz/Web/Default.aspx

Is possible to correct behavior to previous menu version without throwing this error? Thanks.
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Post by Ruth »

Hi,

http://milonic.com/tooltips.php

This is the sample for the new tooltips. You'll have to take a look at the source of the page since the sample is still being developed. From the source you can see how the different uses are coded, i.e. in the menu, from a text link. For example, to code a tooltip from a text link it would be

Code: Select all

<a class=link href=# onmouseover="showtip('I\\\'m a Tooltip From a Text Link');" onmouseout=hidetip();>Tooltips From a Text Link</a>
You'll also need to get the new tooltips module, it's about 1/2 way down the page.

http://milonic.com/menumodules.php

Ruth
kexik_white
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 10:41 am
Contact:

Not about tooltips

Post by kexik_white »

Thanks for your reply, but this problem is not about using tooltips - I completly dont use tooltips, but the problem with "tooltips in error message" still persist, it probably depends on some changes in menu due tooltips upgrade?
User avatar
kevin3442
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2002 12:09 am
Location: Lincoln, NE
Contact:

Re: Not about tooltips

Post by kevin3442 »

kexik_white wrote:Thanks for your reply, but this problem is not about using tooltips - I completly dont use tooltips, but the problem with "tooltips in error message" still persist, it probably depends on some changes in menu due tooltips upgrade?
Hello,

From your first post ("...call popup menu, but definition for this item is missing in data file"), I think you understand the root cause of the error, but if I understand you correctly, you seem to be asking if the error message for a genuine error state can be suppressed.

The "tooltips" part of the error message is somewhat incidental and does not appear in other browsers... e.g., Firefox reports that "_m[$m] has no properties". The error is happening because you are passing the name of a non-existent menu to the popup() function; there is no "T-zones" menu defined in ClientFunction.PopUpMenu.js.aspx, or anywhere else. The error occurs during conditional testing in the popup() function, which is also used by the tooltip functionality (if you're using tooltips). But the problem here is not caused by lack of tooltips; it's caused because the menu object -- _m[$m] -- does not exist to apply the conditional test. The solutions would be (1) make sure the menu you are trying to popup is defined, or (2) don't call popup() for menus that have not been defined.

Hope that helps,

Kevin
Post Reply