sub menu arrow causing misalignment of V main menu

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
kevinl
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2005 7:12 pm

sub menu arrow causing misalignment of V main menu

Post by kevinl »

Hi,

I have vertical main menu with menu items right aligned. On the main menu items which have sub menus, the sub menu arrow image is causing that menu item to be pushed left a bit, thus my main menu is not neatly aligned, see http://www.solomon.ie/milonic/index.html (Accommodation menu item)

I am using the latest source downloaded today.

My style is:
with(style1=new mm_style()){
offcolor="#002bb9";
offbgcolor="#ffffff";
oncolor="#ffffff";
onbgcolor="#002bb8";
borderstyle="solid";
bordercolor="#000000";
fontsize=13;
fontstyle="normal";
fontweight="bold";
fontfamily="Arial, sans-serif";
padding=8;
subimage="pics/arrow.gif";
//high3dcolor="white";
low3dcolor="#DCDDDE";
separatorcolor="#DCDDDE";
}

and the main menu is:
with(milonic=new menuname("mainmenu")){
style=style1;
itemwidth=170;
alwaysvisible=1;
align="right";
position="relative";

aI("text=Home;url=/index.php;")
aI("text=How to find us;url=/page/2;")
aI("text=Accommodation;showmenu=page_3_subm;url=/page/3;")
aI("text=Dining out;url=/page/4;")
aI("text=Attractions;url=/page/5;")
aI("text=Activities;url=/page/6;")
aI("text=Events guide;url=/page/7;")
aI("text=Arts & crafts;url=/page/8;")
aI("text=Services / rentals;url=/page/9;")

}

Anyone any ideas?

Many thanks,
Kevin
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Post by Ruth »

Hi,

Yes, use the subimageposition property and put the arrow in front of the word instead of behind it. subimageposition="left";. If you have to have it where it is, then you need to make a transparent image the same size as the subimage and you need to put the image in each of the other items setting it for imageposition="right"; that way each item will have the text shift back by the same amount.

Ruth
kevinl
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2005 7:12 pm

Post by kevinl »

Thanks Ruth,

That fixed it, I used the transparent image option to pad out the items without sub menus.

Kevin
Post Reply