Users that disable javascript?

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
User avatar
kendra
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 5:55 am

Users that disable javascript?

Post by kendra »

Hi again,

We are actually very happy with our menu, it has worked flawless for months, and has recieved very positive feedback.

One issue is that some users disable javascript, I have looked into this and milonic reccomends using a table in a <noscript>

I tried playing with that and disabling my javascript but without much luck. Does anyone have an example how to implement a alterative menu incase the user does not have javascript and make it invisable if the do?



Thanks :P
~Kendra~
Last edited by kendra on Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
kendra
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 5:55 am

Post by kendra »

anyone?
vikenk
Mega Advanced
Mega Advanced
Posts: 297
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 7:38 pm

Post by vikenk »

Kendra,

Using the <noscript> tag *should* work. One thing that you sould be aware of that I learned the hard way: If you are turning off Javascript in IE and testing LOCALLY, it will not work. For reasons that I do not know, IE only disables JS on live internet, not on local copies.

Try using Firefox or Opera and disable JS with those. It'll work on the local copy. To see an example, you can try two of my sites. One is my own homepage and the other is a school website that I'm working on:

http://home.comcast.net/~vikenk (my site)
http://www.ssaes.org/test_site (school site, unfinished)

If you view the source, you can see how I've implemented the <noscript> tag. Basically, you want to use tables or lists inside the <noscipt> tag. In my case, I've placed them in <div>'s or <tables>. For example:

Code: Select all

<noscript>
  <div id="noscript_menu">
     <ul>
        <li>Link 1</li>
        <li>Link 2</li>
        <li>Link 3</li>
     </ul>
  </div>
</noscript>
Hope this helps.

Viken K.
vikenk
Mega Advanced
Mega Advanced
Posts: 297
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 7:38 pm

Post by vikenk »

Kendra,

I curious to know if you got it to work...

Viken K.
User avatar
kendra
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 5:55 am

Post by kendra »

Sorry for the delay,

Yes that works fine thankyou. The problem was browsing using local files, it can be disabled, but you must disable it in "local Intranet"

Thanks again
~kendra~
https://insarnia.ca/
Post Reply