URL paramter not working with image based menu-why? [solved]

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
User avatar
nwilcox
Mega Advanced
Mega Advanced
Posts: 269
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 6:14 am
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Contact:

URL paramter not working with image based menu-why? [solved]

Post by nwilcox »

http://clients2.serverside.net/vanwestrum/

Even though I'm setting the URL paramater on my parent menu, none of the menu items are clickable. I can attach submenus and they appear fine but the buttons themselves will not work.

it does work fine if I use plain text with the text atribute. Since this is the newest version install (I just pulled it off the website yersterday) could there be a bug in this version? I'm doing the URL parameter correctly per the documentation and examples on the website.

any thoughts on this? :?

thanks!
Last edited by nwilcox on Fri Aug 21, 2009 8:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Migru
Milonic Guru
Milonic Guru
Posts: 669
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 8:22 pm
Location: Hamburg - Germany
Contact:

Post by Migru »

Hi
There are some similar posts like this in the archives:

http://milonic.com/forum/viewtopic. ... t=menu+div

Michael
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Post by Ruth »

Hi,

The problem is the menu inside a nested set of divs. I just tested your menu, relative positioned in a table and it works fine. I suggest, since it is not recommended that the menu be in a div that do the top down to where the menu is as divs, and then the line with the Corporation and menu on it you make a table sized to that 17px height and then continue the rest as divs below that.

This is the page I made, only with the menu, a surrounding div and a table for the menu. Perhaps this will give you ideas on how to do it.

Code: Select all

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN">

<html>
<head>
	<title>Untitled</title><LINK 
href="stylesheet.css" type=text/css rel=stylesheet>
<SCRIPT src="milonic_src.js" type=text/javascript></SCRIPT>
<META content="MSHTML 5.50.4807.2300" name=GENERATOR></HEAD>
<BODY>

<SCRIPT type=text/javascript>
if(ns4)_d.write("<scr"+"ipt type=text/javascript src=mmenuns4.js><\/scr"+"ipt>");
else _d.write("<scr"+"ipt type=text/javascript src=mmenudom.js><\/scr"+"ipt>");
</SCRIPT>

<SCRIPT src="menu_data.js" type=text/javascript></SCRIPT>

<div><table border=1 bordercolor="red" cellpadding=0 cellspacing=0>

<tr>
<td style="background-color:#00457c" width="54"><img src="blank.gif" width="54" height="1" border="0"></td>
       <td width="184" height="17"><A 
href="http://websites.milonic.com/clients2.serverside.net/vanwestrum/"><img src="vw_logo_bottom1.gif" width="184" height="17" border="0"></a></td><td><!--Begin Milonic Menu-->
<SCRIPT type=text/javascript>
with(milonic=new menuname("MainNavigation")){
style=menuStyle;
alwaysvisible=1;
orientation="horizontal";
position="relative";
aI("image=btn_aboutus_up.gif;overimage=btn_aboutus_over.gif;pageimage=btn_aboutus_over.gif;status=About Us;url=http://clients2.serverside.net/vanwestrum/?action=aboutus;");								
aI("title=Coatings;image=btn_coatings_up.gif;overimage=btn_coatings_over.gif;pageimage=btn_coatings_over.gif;url=http://clients2.serverside.net/vanwestrum/?action=services;status=Coatings;");
aI("title=Coatable Items;image=btn_coatableitems_up.gif;overimage=btn_coatableitems_over.gif;pageimage=btn_coatableitems_over.gif;url=http://clients2.serverside.net/vanwestrum/?action=products;status=Coatable Items;");
aI("title=Glossary;image=btn_glossary_up.gif;overimage=btn_glossary_over.gif;pageimage=btn_glossary_over.gif;url=http://clients2.serverside.net/vanwestrum/?action=solutions;status=Glossary;");
aI("title=Request A Quote;image=btn_requestquote_up.gif;overimage=btn_requestquote_over.gif;pageimage=btn_requestquote_over.gif;url=http://clients2.serverside.net/vanwestrum/?action=partners;status=Request A Quote;");
aI("title=Site Map;image=btn_sitemap_up.gif;overimage=btn_sitemap_over.gif;pageimage=btn_sitemap_over.gif;url=http://clients2.serverside.net/vanwestrum/?action=sitemap;status=Site Map;");				}
drawMenus();
		</SCRIPT>
<!--End Milonic Menu--></td>
</tr>
</table></div></body>
</html>
I put the table in a div to see if the menu worked in a generic div and it does, so it is the nested divs, relative positioned and absolute positioned that is causing the problem.

Ruth
User avatar
nwilcox
Mega Advanced
Mega Advanced
Posts: 269
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 6:14 am
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Contact:

Post by nwilcox »

thanks everyone... I just emailed support and got an answer.. albiet a very odd answer

add "CSS" to the top and left paramters when delcaring the parent menu
Post Reply