PNG Images not displaying (at all!) on IE, work 100% on FF

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
dcane
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 5:01 pm

PNG Images not displaying (at all!) on IE, work 100% on FF

Post by dcane »

Team,

Ok, here is a doozy -- my menus look fabu in Firefox, but on IE The PNG images dont display (at all!) I use PNG images on the rest of the page without problem (even alpha trans works witht he IE CSS style), but I cant for the life of me get the icons in the menu to display. Again, they work 100% on FF, but not at all on IE. The same image as a gif works always. While I could resave all my images as GIF I loose the alpha trans, which I like -- so. Thoughts? Ideas?

Anyone else having PNG problems in the menu?

I'm on build 5.751.
Here is a code snippet:

<SCRIPT TYPE="text/javascript">
with(new menuname("Actionbar")){
style=horizStyle;
position="relative";
alwaysvisible=1;
orientation="horizontal";
menuwidth="99%";
margin=3;
aI("text=Web Folder;clickfunction=fnOpenFolderView();target=_new;image=/images/actionbar/webdav.gif;imagepadding=2;rawcss=behavior:url(#default#httpFolder);");aI("text=Add File;url=/do/dcane/files/UploadFile;image=/images/actionbar/24add_file.png;imagepadding=2;");
aI("text=Add Folder;url=/do/dcane/files/AddFolder;image=/images/actionbar/24add_folder.png;imagepadding=2;");
aI("text=Delete;image=/images/actionbar/24delete_selected.png;imagepadding=2;clickfunction=doConfirmDelete()");
aI("text=Email;image=/images/actionbar/24email_selected.png;imagepadding=2;clickfunction=doAction('Email')");
aI("text=Share;image=/images/actionbar/24share_selected_pulldown.png;imagepadding=2;showmenu=AccessShareFileArea;");
aI("text=Tag;image=/images/actionbar/24select_tag_pulldown.png;imagepadding=2;showmenu=TagFileArea;");
aI("text=More Options;image=/images/actionbar/24more_options_pulldown.png;imagepadding=2;showmenu=MoreOptionsFileArea;");
}
drawMenus();
</SCRIPT>

with(horizStyle=new mm_style()){
bordercolor="#999999";
borderstyle="solid";
borderwidth=1;
fontfamily="Arial, Helvetica, Tahoma";
fontsize=".85em";
fontstyle="normal";
fontweight="bold";
headerbgcolor="#AFD1B5";
headerborder=1;
headercolor="#000099";
offbgcolor="#EEE";
offcolor="#000000";
onborder="1px solid #0042A5";
offborder="0px solid #0042A5";
oncolor="#000000";
onsubimage="/images/actionbar/on_downboxed.gif";
overbgimage="/images/actionbar/32bg_blue.gif";
padding=5;
separatorcolor="#999";
separatorsize=1;
separatorheight=18;
separatorpadding=3;
subimage="/images/actionbar/downboxed.gif";
}
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

What version of IE?

You're 10 levels down with the menu software. Current is 5.760, with 5.761 just around the corner. You'll need to upgrade for support here in the forum.
John
dcane
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 5:01 pm

Updated Build,still no dice(or images for that matter)on IE

Post by dcane »

Updated to latest build, and still no PNG images in IE6.

The new build also seemed to break my menuwidth=99% which altough unrelated is noteworthy...

Next steps?

Dan
dcane
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 5:01 pm

Update - HALF solved! menuwidth still not working on build..

Post by dcane »

Team,

Ok, I resolved the PNG IE problem -- turns out you NEED to specifiy a width and height for and IMG tag for IE to like it, so byt putting:
imageheight="24";
itemwidth="24";
in the style the PNGs work! Hurray!

Now, completly unrelated -- the updated build broke the width=100% for my menu... I've tried all the usual hacks around adding an extra itemwidth=100% to a hidden last element, but no dice (on FF and IE). Before all i had to do was menuwidth="100%", but that doesnt work any longer. reverting back to my previous milonic build things work 100%, so whats changed to break this? more importantly, what can i do to fix it?

Dan
dcane
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 5:01 pm

Typo above...

Post by dcane »

Typo above.. The setting the imagewidth and imageheight fixes the problem, forcing the itemwidth=24 would cause all items to be fixed to 24 which would negagte the 100%...

However, with the correct code, the menu still fails to stretch to 100% of the page... I've tried adding the extra seperator with an itemwidth=100%, no dice. making ALL of the items 100% works, but thats NOT the layout im looking for here...

Please advise.
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

There's a fix for an itemwidth problem in the 5.761 pre-release. Give that a try.
Post Reply