problem with frames_menu.

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
krilik
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:36 pm

problem with frames_menu.

Post by krilik »

well i just heard about this kind of js menus so i installed the frames_menu
on my school website
but i couldn't align the menu to the right side of the website
there is a way to do so?
thanks for the helpers

and
sorry for my bad english
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Post by Ruth »

Hi,

We need to see the page to help you, can you post a url please? If not you need to post the frameset info, the html code which shows the menu coding.

Ruth
krilik
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:36 pm

Post by krilik »

here
http://forum.navy.org.il/js_menus/extra ... /index.htm

the right menu opened in the left side
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Post by Ruth »

Hi,

I'm sorry but it is not possible unless there is some way to write a function that 'measures' the body frame to locate the frame right hand border and then transfers that to the menu to set it as left='whatever the function says is the right hand side of the frame. The reason for that is the menu is on the PAGE not on the frame, so if you set screenposition='right'; then the submenus will open at the far right of the page, and that is not the right hand frame border.

Must you have frames? Could you do your layout using an iframe? For example you could set up the page as

Code: Select all

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN">

<html>
<head>
	<title>Untitled</title>
</head>

<body>
<script>
function openIFrame(iFrameId,winURL)
{
	ifId=gmobj(iFrameId)
	ifId.src=winURL
}
</script>
<table width='100%' cellpadding=0 cellspacing=0 height=30 border=0>
<tr>
    <td>This is only a spacer table so the menu has space at the top</td>
</tr>
</table width='100%' height='100%' cellpadding=0 cellspacing=0 border=0>
<table>

<tr>
       <td><iframe width=100% height=97% id=tempiframe src="whatever starting page"></iframe></td>
       <td valign='top'> side menu here positioned relatively, use line breaks to shift it down from the top a bit.</td>
</tr>
</table>

</body>
</html>
If you can use this setup you don't need the frames menu since the regular menu will open submenus over an iframe. If that is possible let me know and I'll post the info on how to do it.

Ruth
Post Reply