Alignment and dispaly problem with table menu [solved]

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
R0Bzombie
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 7:03 pm

Alignment and dispaly problem with table menu [solved]

Post by R0Bzombie »

HI I made a table based menu and my problem is when I test it with netscape 7.1 the menu shifts on the right as soon as I mouseover it.

Some visitors said to me that they don't see the menu at all.
I tested it with internet explorer 6 on 2 computers and it is not or not always displaying.

I also tested it with ie 7 and firefox 2 and they both work with no problems.
Could some one could test it on a mac and linux please.

I've setup a test page at http://www.r0bzombie.com/files/test/test.html
The folder http://www.r0bzombie.com/files/test/ is browseable.

Any help would be very apreciated.

Thank you[/url]
Last edited by R0Bzombie on Thu Jan 25, 2007 2:49 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Post by Ruth »

Hi,

Not sure why you are putting in a drawmenus at the end of each submenu. You only need one at the end of the menu_data.js file and the one at the end of the mainmenu file.

Also, the menu doesn't seem to like having that accented e in the name of the submenu Maison-Musée. That throws and error. If you have to have the accent do it this way

Code: Select all

with(milonic=new menuname("Maison-Musée")){
That seems to work OK.

Try those changes and see if it works.


Ruth
R0Bzombie
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 7:03 pm

Post by R0Bzombie »

Also, the menu doesn't seem to like having that accented e in the name of the submenu Maison-Musée. That throws and error. If you have to have the accent do it this way

Code:
with(milonic=new menuname("Maison-Musée")){
That seems to work OK.
I don't understand what you mean, I have the same thing in my menus.
if you are talking about the code "eacute" to make my "é", I need it so it apears correctly in firefox.

Thank you
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

R0Bzombie wrote:I don't understand what you mean, I have the same thing in my menus.
if you are talking about the code "eacute" to make my "é", I need it so it apears correctly in firefox.
Ruth is talking about your use of it in the menu name, not within the displayed menu itself (i.e., in your aI statements). There's no reason to have it in the menu name, as that is strictly internal and not displayed.
John
R0Bzombie
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 7:03 pm

Post by R0Bzombie »

ok I understand now.

But that didn't solve my problem.
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Post by Ruth »

Hi,

And, I can see why you were confused since it looks like I put an accented e in what I posted but what I put was the & plus the eacute, but for some reason it converted it. I thought since it was in code tags it wouldn't convert it. Very strange...

Ruth
R0Bzombie
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 7:03 pm

Post by R0Bzombie »

Ok I made some testing by trys and errors.
What I found out is in netscape 7.1 the menu was shifting to the right.
I solved it.
Before I had this

Code: Select all

<TABLE class=mainbody cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=770 align=center border=0>
<TBODY>
  <TR>
  <TD><IMG src="images/menu/title.gif" width=770></TD>
  <TR>
    <TD align=center background="images/menu/table_bg.gif" bgColor=#efedde>
		 <center>
		  <table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" align="center">
			 <tr>
				<td><SCRIPT type="text/javascript" src="include/menu/mainmenu.js"></SCRIPT></td>
			 </tr>
			</table>
		 </center>
		</TD>
  </TR>
  <TR>
  	<TD>
			<IMG src="images/menu/bottom.gif" width=770>
		</TD>
	</TR>
	</tbody>
</TABLE>
and then I tried this

Code: Select all

<TABLE class=mainbody cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=770 align=center border=0>
<TBODY>
  <TR>
   <TD><IMG src="images/menu/title.gif" width=770></TD>
  <TR>
  	<TD align=center background="images/menu/table_bg.gif" bgColor=#efedde>
		<SCRIPT type="text/javascript" src="include/menu/mainmenu.js"></SCRIPT>
	</TD>
  </TR>
  <TR>
  	<TD>
			<IMG src="images/menu/bottom.gif" width=770>
		</TD>
	</TR>
	</tbody>
</TABLE>
The menu doesn't shift anymore but I still can't see the menu in IE6

Still trying.

If you have any advice, please let me know

Thank you

EDIT: oops, I found out that I was missing a

Code: Select all

</tr>
between the 4th and 5th line of code. Will try it to see what happens

Edit2: IE6 is giving me those errors:

Code: Select all

line 77
Char 42
Unterminated string content
and

Code: Select all

Line 5
Char 1
XPMainStyle is undefined
R0Bzombie
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 7:03 pm

Post by R0Bzombie »

Ok I found out that my problem was the editor that I was using to create my pages.

I used Microsoft expression web and it was saving my pages in another format that IE6 wasn't able to read.

So to solve the problem, I opened my pages with notepad and I changed the coding. It was set to "UTF-8" and I changed it to "ANSI"
Post Reply