JS menu not showing up

Please note that official support for this menu version has now ceased. There are still plenty of users, though, and the forum is still running. Some of our long-time users may be able to help you out.
Post Reply
clabber
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:30 pm

JS menu not showing up

Post by clabber »

I'm using the horizonal navigation bar-
I have the *.js files in the same directory as the <html> file.
I added the links to the *.js files in the <head> , but the menu does not show up on my page.
The only things i changed were the colors and the titles.
Do i have to add any code into the <body> of my <html> file?



frantic
clabber
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:30 pm

cont'd....

Post by clabber »

ms_gillis
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2002 2:59 am

try this

Post by ms_gillis »

in the SCRIPT code you don't need the absolute link info:

instead of: <script language="JavaScript" src="http://www15.brinkster.com/clabber/menu ... "></script>

try: <script language="JavaScript" src= "menu_array.js" type=text/javascript></SCRIPT>

check out one of these sites built with DHTML if you need the source:

http://www.liucentre.ubc.ca/icc/home.htm
http://www.ams.ubc.ca/clubs/irsa/index.htm

hope this helps !
User avatar
trytrix
Super Advanced
Super Advanced
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2002 9:46 pm
Location: Flanders / Belgium
Contact:

Post by trytrix »

Hi MS_Gillis,

You also need to put the menu activation script into the <body> section, i.e. :

<!-- MENU ACTIVATION ---------------------->
<script language=javascript>
function setValue()
{
mn=getMenuByName("FollowMain")
menu=eval("menu"+mn)
menu[10]=parseInt(document.f1.t1.value)
}
</script>

<!-- MENU ACTIVATION ---------------------->

Best regards,

Trytrix

(From Flanders Fields 8O )


And .. just give me a HIT at : http://www.ransbecca.be
clabber
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:30 pm

thanks, but.....

Post by clabber »

i appreciate the help, but it's still not showing up.
i looked at the source on the milonic site, and they have the links to the .js files in the body. i tried that, still nothing. i added the activation code, and changed the "Followmain" name to "Mainmenu", which is what i named it in my menu_array.js file

also, i'm getting an error that's coming from the mmenu.js
line: 498 char: 127 saying "object required"
although i made no changes to the original source for that file!

http://www15.btrinkster.com/clabber/template.html
Post Reply