Need help with Javascript conflict

Please note that official support for this menu version has now ceased. There are still plenty of users, though, and the forum is still running. Some of our long-time users may be able to help you out.
Post Reply
vreug
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 8:43 pm

Need help with Javascript conflict

Post by vreug »

I am testing and modifying the Navigational Menu scripts for use on my web site. I am running into a conflict with a current script I run that displays a message in the status bar on page load and after each onmouseover (the script and <body> tag are below). After viewing the navigation menu dropdowns and then onmouseover one of my links I get the message "undefined" in the status bar. I would like to know if anyone would be willing to help me resolve the conflict and get the scripts to work together. I believe it is a window.status conflict. You can see it in action at http://www.vreug.com/indextest.html. Thanks!


<SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript">
<!-- Beginning of JavaScript -------------------
var timerID;
var m1 = " Welcome to VREUG.com!";
function stat_load(mesg, time)
{
time = time * 1000;
clearTimeout(timerID);
timerID=setTimeout('window.status=m1',time);
window.status=mesg;
} // end stat_load

function displaymesg()
{ window.status = m1;
}
// -- End of JavaScript code -------------- -->
</SCRIPT>

<BODY onLoad="timeONE=window.setTimeout('displaymesg()',500)">

Paul
User avatar
trytrix
Super Advanced
Super Advanced
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2002 9:46 pm
Location: Flanders / Belgium
Contact:

Post by trytrix »

Hi,

I don't get any error !
Everything works fine ..

Cheers,
Trytrix

(http://www.ransbecca.be)
You're Never Fully Dressed Without A :D Smile !

"From Image Flanders, one of Europe's most dynamic regions" - Visit : http://www.toerismevlaanderen.be
vreug
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 8:43 pm

Post by vreug »

It is not really an error that I get it is just that instead of my status bar message I get the message "undefined" in the status bar.
To see this you have to test the drop down menus and then roll your mouse over one of the regular links on the page. Onmouseout you will see "undefined" in the staus bar.

Paul
User avatar
trytrix
Super Advanced
Super Advanced
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2002 9:46 pm
Location: Flanders / Belgium
Contact:

Post by trytrix »

Hi Paul,

I've done all that ..
Never had an "Undefined" message in the status bar !!!

Cheers,

Trytrix,

(Hit me at http://www.ransbecca.be)
You're Never Fully Dressed Without A :D Smile !

"From Image Flanders, one of Europe's most dynamic regions" - Visit : http://www.toerismevlaanderen.be
Post Reply