Javascript item hiding submenu

Please note that official support for this menu version has now ceased. There are still plenty of users, though, and the forum is still running. Some of our long-time users may be able to help you out.
Post Reply
jwilk
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2002 5:21 pm

Javascript item hiding submenu

Post by jwilk »

I am having trouble with the sub menu being hidden behind a javascript item. I have searched this forum and realize that the answer is probably here, but just beyond my skill level.

Now having whined and explained that I am just beyond beginner status, :oops: would someone PLEASE take a look at this page (currently hidden on our server until I get it finished) and tell me exactly what I need to do to fix this.
Many many thanks!

http://users.dcr.net/~bcc/jindex.htm
User avatar
trytrix
Super Advanced
Super Advanced
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2002 9:46 pm
Location: Flanders / Belgium
Contact:

Post by trytrix »

Hi,

Is this a joke ?
Everything works as it should !!

Cheers,
Trytrix

( Ht me at http://www.ransbecca.be )
You're Never Fully Dressed Without A :D Smile !

"From Image Flanders, one of Europe's most dynamic regions" - Visit : http://www.toerismevlaanderen.be
jwilk
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2002 5:21 pm

Post by jwilk »

[quote="trytrix"]
Is this a joke ?
Everything works as it should !!

Cheers,
Trytrix

No, it's really not a joke. One of my drop downs, the one labeled "About Bcc" has it's last item hidden partially by the javascript item that is the slide show. I guess it could be affected by the viewer's screen resolution. But, I was seriously asking for advice.
User avatar
trytrix
Super Advanced
Super Advanced
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2002 9:46 pm
Location: Flanders / Belgium
Contact:

Post by trytrix »

Hi Jwilk,

All right I see ..
Tested it in 800x600 resolution
It's definitely affected by the viewer's screen resolution.

Iet's an applet you are using there.

Code: Select all

<applet width="232" height="250" code="fadeshow.class">
...
</applet>
Try adjusting the width and height or insert a few <BR> tags before !!
Or ..

Code: Select all

"right",	// Screen Position - here you can use "center;left;right;middle;top;bottom" or a combination of "center:middle"
set the menu screen positon to right !!

Cheers,
Trytrix

( Hit me at http://www.ransbecca.be )
You're Never Fully Dressed Without A :D Smile !

"From Image Flanders, one of Europe's most dynamic regions" - Visit : http://www.toerismevlaanderen.be
jwilk
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2002 5:21 pm

Javascript item hiding

Post by jwilk »

Thanks for your suggestions. I was hoping for a way to make the menu appear on top of the javascript item. Moving the slide show, or changing it's size is really not an option, or more specifically, those changes would have to be too major to allow viewing of the slide show.
Thanks anyway!
jwilk
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2002 5:21 pm

Post by jwilk »

Actually with this problem, I was hoping for a fix like the one to hide forms when they overlap a menu. There is an example on the main page dealing with a workaround for forms. It involves using the <DIV> tag, and I confess, I don't understand the example.

Anybody have any experience with this?
User avatar
kevin3442
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2002 12:09 am
Location: Lincoln, NE
Contact:

Post by kevin3442 »

I suppose you could try taking the form-hiding approach. Place your <APPLET> block in a <DIV>. Giv the DIV an ID, and have the appropriate menus hide that DIV when they drop. I have no idea if it'll work, but it's at least worth a shot.

Also, I have no idea if you can apply a css class to an applet (never tried), but you might investigate the possibility of creating a class to apply that would decrease the z-index, so that the applet occupies a layer behind the menu. Again, don't know if it's possible, but it's worth lookin into.

Good luck,

Kevin
jwilk
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2002 5:21 pm

Post by jwilk »

Thanks Kevin! The form hiding method worked, once I figured out exactly WHERE to put the code. :oops: I confess it took several attempts, but I finally got it to work.

I really appreciate your help with this.
User avatar
kevin3442
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2002 12:09 am
Location: Lincoln, NE
Contact:

Post by kevin3442 »

Glad to help, although you did the real work. Nice looking site by the way.

Kevin
Post Reply