Left alignment of sub menu

Please note that official support for this menu version has now ceased. There are still plenty of users, though, and the forum is still running. Some of our long-time users may be able to help you out.
Post Reply
Ludus
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 26, 2002 8:55 pm
Location: Rome
Contact:

Left alignment of sub menu

Post by Ludus »

Hi,

I need to set a left alignment for 1 or 2 sub menu only. Is it possible?
My DHTML menu shows all submenu with right alignment.
I need to change the alignment as I have in the page a menu select and 1 sub menu shown is covered by this select menu.

Hope it's clear :)

Thanks in advance,

Daniele from Italy
User avatar
kevin3442
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2002 12:09 am
Location: Lincoln, NE
Contact:

Post by kevin3442 »

Hi Daniele,

You can set the text alignment of any submenu in the 9th element of the menu's array: "left", "right", or "center".

Another alternative would be to hide the select box (or the entire form) when the overlapping menu opens.

Hope that helps,

Kevin in the US
Ludus
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 26, 2002 8:55 pm
Location: Rome
Contact:

Post by Ludus »

kevin3442 wrote:Hi Daniele,

You can set the text alignment of any submenu in the 9th element of the menu's array: "left", "right", or "center".

Another alternative would be to hide the select box (or the entire form) when the overlapping menu opens.

Hope that helps,

Kevin in the US
Dear Kevin,

thanks for yr reply.
I don't need to set the text alignment, but the submenu alignment. As you can see, on mouse over all submenu appear on the right. Is it possible to set 1 or 2 submenu on the left? I need it because 1 sub menu is covered by a dropdown menu.

Daniele
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

Can you post a URL so we can see what's happening? Easier for us to help that way.

To go a little further on Kevin's thought...
Another alternative would be to hide the select box (or the entire form) when the overlapping menu opens.
If I understand what you're saying (a part of your form is being covered by some of the menu), you can set a <div name="daniele" id="daniele"> around your form (or, I think, just the part that's in trouble), then enter that name into "// ID of the div you want to hide on MouseOver (useful for hiding form elements)". Now when a menu drops over that <div> area it will actually hide, leaving the menu in the clear.
John
User avatar
kevin3442
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2002 12:09 am
Location: Lincoln, NE
Contact:

Post by kevin3442 »

Hi Daniele,

The div hiding John explained is a good approach when faced with pesky form elements. If you decide you just want to move a submenu over, you can specify an offset in the menu array's 3rd element (Menu Left), like so:

Code: Select all

"offset=-50" // Menu Left
Include the quotes. The above example would move the menu 50 px to the left of where it would normall open. Use a positive value to move the menu to the right.

Hope that helps,

Kevin
User avatar
kevin3442
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2002 12:09 am
Location: Lincoln, NE
Contact:

Post by kevin3442 »

Hi Daniele,

The div hiding John explained is a good approach when faced with pesky form elements. If you decide you just want to move a submenu over, you can specify an offset in the menu array's 3rd element (Menu Left), like so:

Code: Select all

"offset=-50" // Menu Left
Include the quotes. The above example would move the menu 50 px to the left of where it would normall open. Use a positive value to move the menu to the right.

Hope that helps,

Kevin
Post Reply