design the menu to a link

Please note that official support for this menu version has now ceased. There are still plenty of users, though, and the forum is still running. Some of our long-time users may be able to help you out.
Post Reply
funkstar
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2003 12:53 am
Location: Denmark

design the menu to a link

Post by funkstar »

Hello all,

Regarding this link:
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicinde ... /index.htm

If I want to use a link on a html page (ex. below), and then use your submenu everytime the mouse touch the link:

How do I make a call from the belowed HTML (red) file to the menu_array.js
,"Webmaster  ","show-menu=webmaster",,"",1
])

addmenu(menu=["webmaster",,,120,1,,style1,0,"left",effect,0,,,,,,,,,,,
,"Download.com","http://www.download.com",,,1
,"Tucows","http://www.tucows.com",,,1
])

<html>

<head>
<title>Menu</title>

</head>

<body bgcolor="#5A5A5A" background="" bgproperties="fixed" Adding scroll="auto">
<SCRIPT language=JavaScript src="menu_array.js" type=text/javascript></SCRIPT>
<SCRIPT language=JavaScript src="mmenu.js" type=text/javascript></SCRIPT>

<a href="Profileone.html">Profile</a>

</body>

</html>

I know I have to make some changes in menu_array.js, but this isn´t the problem.

Thanks for reading
Janus
User avatar
kevin3442
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2002 12:09 am
Location: Lincoln, NE
Contact:

Post by kevin3442 »

Hi Janus,

I assume that you mean you want to open a menu when the user mouses over a static link on the page. Let's suppose that you have a menu named "downloads" and you want to open that menu when a user mouses over a static link on the page. You'd do it like so:

Code: Select all

<a href="javascript://nothing" onmouseover="popup('downloads',1)">download menu</a>
I set href to a javascript comment so that clicking it would do nothing. The onmouseover event would call the built-in popup() function to open the "downloads" menu below and to the left of the mouse pointer's position when it enters the link.

Hope that helps,

Kevin
funkstar
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2003 12:53 am
Location: Denmark

Post by funkstar »

Hi Kevin,

If I want to catch a file called "menu_array.js" in the same FTP folder from my html file (index.html)

Code: Select all

<a href="javascript://nothing" onmouseover="popup('downloads',1)">download menu</a>
How do I do that?

Regards Janus
User avatar
kevin3442
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2002 12:09 am
Location: Lincoln, NE
Contact:

Post by kevin3442 »

Hi Janus,

I'm not sure I understand your question. Do you want to simply load the menu_array.js file from the same path as your index.html file? To do so, place the following code in your html file (most menu users will put it toward the top of the <body>):

Code: Select all

<SCRIPT language=JavaScript src="menu_array.js" type=text/javascript></SCRIPT>
Don't know if that's what you meant.

Kevin
funkstar
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2003 12:53 am
Location: Denmark

Post by funkstar »

Sorry it was perhaps quit bad explained, but anyway here it comes again and I hope I have expained the below, so it´s make since, this time:-)

It is possible to download the menu here: http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicinde ... pmenu4.zip

Two steps to installing this script:

Step 1) Add the below to the <BODY> section of your page, OUTSIDE any other tags. For example, place it as the first code following the BODY tag itself:

Code: Select all

<SCRIPT language=JavaScript src="menu_array.js" type=text/javascript></SCRIPT>
	<SCRIPT language=JavaScript src="mmenu.js" type=text/javascript></SCRIPT>
Step 2) Upload the relevant files contained inside this zip into your webpage directory where the menu resides in. They are:

-mmenu.js
-menu_array.js
-The relevant image files (ie: arrow.gif, arrowdn.gif)


All configurations to this script is done inside menu_array.js.

My issue:
I don´t want the predesigned menu from the menu_array.js. I want to make a image or write some text, and from that image or text I wan´t the menu to appear.

I really hope I have explaned well this time :?

Regards
Janus[/url][/i]
Post Reply