Ghost Submenu (Frames, vertical and right to left)

Please note that official support for this menu version has now ceased. There are still plenty of users, though, and the forum is still running. Some of our long-time users may be able to help you out.
Post Reply
CoolAsIce
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 9:18 am
Location: Germany

Ghost Submenu (Frames, vertical and right to left)

Post by CoolAsIce »

Hello all!

I posted this problem (wrongly) in Version 5 Forum:

I want to make a simple Frames-Menu:
  • 2 Frames (left=content, right=menu)
  • The menu should show all submenus form right to left in content frame
  • i have to use frames, and i dont want to have iframes, etc..
The Code is use is from frames.zip from the Frames-Demo
The Frames Side Code:

Code: Select all

addmenu(menu=["languages",0
,0,200,1,"right",plain_style,,,effect,,,,,,,,,,,,
,"PHP", "history.php?tp=php",,,0
,"JSP", "history.php?tp=jsp",,,0
,"JavaScript", "history.php?tp=jscript",,,0
])
I jsut added "right" for Menu position...
This works fine, all submenu are from right to left...

But i noticed a ghost submenu on the left, when you navigate back from submenu to menu when you cross the frames border quickly. You can try it here: http://www.pupule.de/menu
If you move slowly, the ghost submenu wont be shown, try it often to see what i mean.

My .JS verison is Version 3.5.15.

So can anyone help me with this?
:?:
And how to upgrade to version 5? I haven't found any download location for this :?:


Many thanks in advance!

CoolAsIce

P.S. I added a pic (took me a long time to catch the ghost submenu)
Image
User avatar
fredlongworthhighschool
Mega Advanced
Mega Advanced
Posts: 362
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2003 11:34 am
Location: Manchester, England.
Contact:

Post by fredlongworthhighschool »

A link to version 5 can be found here:


http://www.milonic.co.uk/menu/forum/vie ... php?t=2086

Not sure whats going on with the 'ghost' appearing on the left.
Andy Davis
Web Designer & Smartboard Manager

Fred Longworth High School, Manchester, England.
User avatar
kevin3442
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2002 12:09 am
Location: Lincoln, NE
Contact:

Post by kevin3442 »

It looks to me like the submenu is appearing at x=0 before moving to the "right" ScreenPosition that you've specified... probably because Menu Left is not et so it uses 0 as the default. Have you tried not specifying a ScreenPosition (the 6th element in the submenu's array), to see if it will try to position itself correctly by default? If that doesn't work, the "Right-to-left" option may be useful. I'd try those first... it seems to me that you ought to be able to get the submenus to position themselves automatically. If none of that works, you might be able to apply a workaround by specifying a negative value in each submenu's Menu Left (3rd) element. For example, set Menu Left to -300. My guess is that the ghost image will then initially appear off the browser screen, 300 pixels to the left, then be repositioned to right justified. If the initial appearance is off screen, the user won't see it, so it's as if it didn't happen.

Hope that helps,

Kevin
Post Reply