browser not maximized positioning problem

Please note that official support for this menu version has now ceased. There are still plenty of users, though, and the forum is still running. Some of our long-time users may be able to help you out.
Locked
djooo
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2003 5:49 pm

browser not maximized positioning problem

Post by djooo »

http://www.rotman-baycrest.on.ca/web_te ... e/home.htm

with the browser not maximized, the menu extends beyond the page

i think i have to place the menu in a cell, but am uncertain how to do that

any help is appreciated

thanks
User avatar
Hergio
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 1123
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 7:46 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Post by Hergio »

Yes place it in a cell and change its positioning to relative to it stays in there. Then if its right justtified in the cell and the cell is set to a percentage (so it moves with the edge of the page) then menu will follow. I'm pretty sure it will work...havent tried it though.
Dave Hergert
Software Engineer
"Helping to make the menu better, one :?: at a time."
djooo
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2003 5:49 pm

Post by djooo »

where do i set the positioning to relative? In the mmenu.js file there are about 9 references to position. Which ones do I change?
djooo
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2003 5:49 pm

Post by djooo »

i placed the menu in a table cell, and tried to change some position:absolute to position:relative but it messes up the apperance of the menu (does line wrapping, top menu items are not aligned etc..)

Please help!!
User avatar
Hergio
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 1123
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 7:46 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Post by Hergio »

You change the position in the menu_array file to relative, dont touch mmenu! That is a source code for the menu that doesnt require any tweaking. In the menu_array file there should be a place thats commented that tells you about position and gives you the options of aabsolute or relative. It would be declared towards the beginning of your first menu, a couple commas in. And make sure its alwaysvisible attribute is 0. Then inside of the td in your page, put
<SCRIPT>
PlaceMenu('yourmenuname');
</SCRIPT>
in it.
Dave Hergert
Software Engineer
"Helping to make the menu better, one :?: at a time."
djooo
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2003 5:49 pm

Post by djooo »

there is no reference to relative/absolute positioning in my menu_array file, this is what I have for the style array and the main menu

timegap=500 // The time delay for menus to remain visible
followspeed=5 // Follow Scrolling speed
followrate=40 // Follow Scrolling Rate
suboffset_top=10; // Sub menu offset Top position
suboffset_left=100; // Sub menu offset Left position


style1=[
"003366", // Mouse Off Font Color
"ffffff", // Mouse Off Background Color
"009933", // Mouse On Font Color
"ffffff", // Mouse On Background Color
"009933", // Menu Border Color
11, // Font Size in pixels
"normal", // Font Style (italic or normal)
"bold", // Font Weight (bold or normal)
"Verdana, Arial", // Font Name
4, // Menu Item Padding
"", // Sub Menu Image
, // 3D Border & Separator bar
"", // 3D High Color
"", // 3D Low Color
"003366", // Current Page Item Font Color
"white", // Current Page Item Background Color
"", // Top Bar image
"", // Menu Header Font Color
"red", // Menu Header Background Color
]



addmenu(menu=[
"mainmenu", // Menu Name -
32, // Menu Top - The Top position of the menu in pixels
459, // Menu Left - The Left position of the menu in pixels
, // Menu Width - Menus width in pixels
0, // Menu Border Width
, // Screen Position -
style1, // Properties Array - this is set higher up, as above
1, // Always Visible
"left", // Alignment -
effect, // Filter -
, // Follow Scrolling -
1, // Horizontal Menu
0, // Keep Alive -
, // Position of TOP sub image left:center:right
, // Set the Overall Width of Horizontal Menu
, // Right To Left - Used in Hebrew for example.
, // Open the Menus OnClick -
, // ID of the div you want to hide on MouseOver (useful for hiding form elements)
, // Reserved for future use
, // Reserved for future use
, // Reserved for future use
User avatar
Hergio
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 1123
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 7:46 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Post by Hergio »

Ok sorry I was at school when I sent that so I could not look at any code. I apologize for the incorrect answer. The Screen position attribute can be used to influence the direction of the menu, either left, middle, right, you get the picture. Now to get a menu to position itself relatively, you remove the top and left values (clear them) and set the alwaysvisible attribute to nothing or 0, and then in the td tags, like I said, you put the placemenu call. Try that.

Also search for 'relative' and 'position' in the version 3 forum and there are alot of posts regarding this. Go back a couple months though.
Dave Hergert
Software Engineer
"Helping to make the menu better, one :?: at a time."
djooo
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2003 5:49 pm

Post by djooo »

i tried all your suggestions but what worked was setting the
screen position to right, specifying a top and left offset and not placing the menu within a table cell

thanks for your help!!
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

Glad you got it working :D

Now - make the move to v5... ;)
John
User avatar
Hergio
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 1123
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 7:46 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Post by Hergio »

Man I am getting alittle rusty with the version 3 stuff. Not too big of a deal though, I mean, I can't exactly whip through Windows 3.1 like I used to either. :P Glad you got it working, I will make a note of it.
Dave Hergert
Software Engineer
"Helping to make the menu better, one :?: at a time."
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

Hergio wrote:Man I am getting alittle rusty with the version 3 stuff.
Make that more than a 'little' rusty :!:

Hey, you made the big 5-0-0 :!: Nice goin' :D
John
Locked