Can't use in frames with external content

Please note that official support for this menu version has now ceased. There are still plenty of users, though, and the forum is still running. Some of our long-time users may be able to help you out.
Post Reply
webmaster@bryansbunch.com
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 7:24 pm

Can't use in frames with external content

Post by webmaster@bryansbunch.com »

Using a nav frame and a main content frame.

Any time you load a page in the content frame that doesn't "onload" the script, you get the "Object doesn't support this property of method" script error when you mouseover the menu. (IE 6)

If only the top level menu (called from the nav frame) could be persistent without worrying about whether or not the submenus were loaded (ought to trap this error gracefuly anyway - pointing out there's a problem with the submenu object(s) instead of crashing), then I could place a "Home" button in the first position of the top level menu that could bring the user back to my local pages where the body contains the script loader and the submenus resume functionality.
Seth
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't use in frames with external content

Post by Seth »

I noticed this problem as well. If/when you come up with a solution, let me know?
chris@blue-canoe.net
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 7:52 pm

Re: Can't use in frames with external content

Post by chris@blue-canoe.net »

Change this in mmenus.js:

function popi(v1,lyr,el)

... some code ...

else if(frt>0)
{
lt=parseLink(v1, "target");
if(lt)
{
v1=v1.substring(10,frt);
close_el(v1)
pf=parent[lt];
if(pf)pf.closeallmenus();

}
}

... some code ...

to read [see the try{}catch(error){} block]:

else if(frt>0)
{
lt=parseLink(v1, "target");
if(lt)
{
v1=v1.substring(10,frt);
close_el(v1)
pf=parent[lt];
if(pf){
try{pf.closeallmenus();}
catch(error){}
}

}
}

I believe that this is caused by mistakenly trying to call a function in the parent window of the called frame that doesn't exist?

I will look further into it.

Chris Barber.
gstadter
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 25, 2002 5:04 pm

correct me if i am wrong...

Post by gstadter »

i made this modification, but still got errors "expected }" until i additionally added another }, immediately after the "catch(error){}" in your fix.
Post Reply