help with divhider and mulitple word menu sections

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

help with divhider and mulitple word menu sections

Post by Ruth »

This is the divhider.js file beginning code.

Code: Select all

M_hideMenus = "Samples->formdiv1;Samples->formdiv2;milonic->formdiv2;"
This is what I used for my menu

Code: Select all

M_hideMenus = "This Site->div1;Around The Web->div1;Search->div1;Contact->div1;Milonic Menus->div1;"
I'm using it to hide an applet. It works fine with the two single word sections: search and contact, but won't work with the others. I have tried inserting a non breaking space [& nbsp ;] between the words, both in the menu and in the code, I've tried putting the ->div1; after each single word [This->div1;Site->div1; etc. Neither attempt worked. Any solution to get it to work with more than one word?

Ruth

PS HAPPY HOLIDAYS!!!
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

Just guessing here, because I haven't looked at this code, but doesn't this point to the name of the <div> you're after, rather than the text? If so, the internal name can be one word (e.g., This_Site) without messing up your menu look.

Of course, I could still have the fever... :roll:
John
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Post by Ruth »

[edit] deleted links and question[endedit] Ok, I finally figured it out for anyone else that is as unknowledgeable :? as I...... When you code the divhider.js file you don't use the names that appear in the main menu, but the names of the dropdown menus that you have in your menu data file ;"

Code: Select all

with(milonic=new menuname("main2")){
style=main2;
aI("text= Poetry, Graphics, Games ;showmenu=whatevermenuname;");
}
would be coded like this in the divhider.js file

Code: Select all

M_hideMenus = "whatevermenuname->div1;" or whatever you named your div....
Post Reply