List of Transitions and aligning Menu

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
NormalGod
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 1:35 am
Contact:

List of Transitions and aligning Menu

Post by NormalGod »

I have two questions that I would really appreciate being answered:

1) There used to be a whole list on the old site of transitions and effects that you could manipulate right there, and see in action. Is this list gone, in re-development, or moved? Regardless, could someone please post the old list here?

2) On my site (http://www.nisk.k12.ny.us/nhs/clubs/forensics/menu.htm) I can not get the menu, nor any of the page elements to seamlessly align with the left and top of the screen. How do you do this?
A good example of the aligment I'm trying to get is at http://www.ups.com.


Thanks to any who can help.
Last edited by NormalGod on Tue Sep 02, 2003 5:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
Gonna buy a tank and an aeroplane
User avatar
Maz
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 1717
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2003 11:39 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Post by Maz »

If you have position="center;middle"; remove it and use left= & top=

alignment=horizontal

I'm guessing, may need to see your data.

Regards
maz
NormalGod
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 1:35 am
Contact:

Post by NormalGod »

menu_data.js at:

http://www.nisk.k12.ny.us/nhs/clubs/for ... nu_data.js

I was also wondering about all the other page elements, and why they won't slide over.

When the menu is alone, I can get it to align with the IE window, but when I put it in a table cell, it shifts over with everything else.
Gonna buy a tank and an aeroplane
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Post by Ruth »

I'm not sure what you are asking. This is what you have now in the table setup

Code: Select all

<table align="left" width="75%" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0" border="0">
<tr bgcolor="FFFFFF"><td colspan=2><img src="menu_head.jpg" alt="Welcome" align="left" height="120" width="547" border="0"></td></tr>
<tr><td align="left" bgcolor="D3D3D3" colspan=2><script> milonic script here</script></td></tr>
That places the menu below the header image. Switch these around and the menu will come up above that image and be at the top. As for the all the way at the top and left, even with the table border set at zero, browsers have a default 'margin'. I use this code and it eliminates the margins, at least in some browsers, but be aware it will shift the whole table and everything in it all the way left and top.

Code: Select all

<body bgcolor="green" leftMargin="0" topMargin="0" VSPACE="0" HSPACE="0" MARGINWIDTH="0" MARGINHEIGHT="0">
And I went to the link you gave as an example and didn't even see a menu, only drop type 'pick your country' thing and pictures above.

Try this and see if it's what you mean.
http://www.poems2u.com/new/menu-sample.htm

Also, here about the middle of the page of the Horizontal Menu explanation are links for explaining positioning in more detail, including one for attached to a table cell.
http://milonic.com/menusample.php?sampleid=1

Ruth
User avatar
Hergio
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 1123
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 7:46 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Post by Hergio »

RE the filters list, go to http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/defau ... ilters.asp and scroll to the bottom and you will see all the filters available from microsoft. Clicking on them shows you how to implement them.
Basically you can use any that MS has, but obivously the ones that are best are the ones you see in the examples. I have successfully implemented motionblur, blur and glow as effects. You can get some neat effects going, try blur, it will make your users think they are loosing their eyesight...hehe :}
Dave Hergert
Software Engineer
"Helping to make the menu better, one :?: at a time."
NormalGod
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 1:35 am
Contact:

Post by NormalGod »

MANY THANKS!!!

innkeeper- that worked, the images align perfectly now!

Hergio- great! i got the whole list now.
Gonna buy a tank and an aeroplane
User avatar
Maz
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 1717
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2003 11:39 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Post by Maz »

Dave,

Thank you for the useful link.

I notice that shadow has transparency, after I removed opaque I still get a seethrough submenu, not understanding how to implement the effect, do I change shadow values to obtain a white bgcolor, if I change color to #FFFFFF I think I will lose shadow?

overfilter = "Fade(duration=0.2);Shadow(color='#777777',Direction=135, Strength=5)";
outfilter = "randomdissolve(duration=0.3)";

Thanks
maz
User avatar
Hergio
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 1123
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 7:46 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Post by Hergio »

You wont loose the shadow, it will just be white and fade to nothing. Obviously if you have a white background on your site, it will look like its missing. But the color sets what the color of the shadow is closest to the object being shadowed, and then the strength and direction determine in what direction and how many pixels it takes for the opacity of that color to drop to nothing.
Dave Hergert
Software Engineer
"Helping to make the menu better, one :?: at a time."
Post Reply