menu appears invisable in Windows IE

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
User avatar
bubblejam
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 7:31 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

menu appears invisable in Windows IE

Post by bubblejam »

Hi,

New user just getting to grips with this menu. So far it's worked beautifully in Firefox (mac and pc) but in windows IE it doesn't appear at all.

See http://nang-nang.net/temp/index2.html
Note that index2 is made up of iframes, the top containing a flash swf, the lower the text content and DHTML menu (bottom iframe is 'main.html')

When the mouse rolls over where the menu should appear, I get links being displayed in the status bar, including 'javascript:void(0);' and 'contact.html' for example, so it's as if the menu is there, but invisible!

Can anyone tell me why?

Thanks!
User avatar
bubblejam
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 7:31 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: menu appears invisable in Windows IE

Post by bubblejam »

anyone?

i don't know what else to do!
Last edited by bubblejam on Mon Jun 22, 2009 11:14 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
bubblejam
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 7:31 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: menu appears invisable in Windows IE

Post by bubblejam »

this is it: my code...
i've set the offsets in the 'menu_data.js' to 'top=0;' and 'left=0;' so the menu should appear to divide the top flash swf from the content below.

Code: Select all

<head>
<title>nang-nang / freelance website graphics and web designer at your service / london, UK</title>

<style>
BODY{
  SCROLLBAR-FACE-COLOR: #FFFFFF; 
  SCROLLBAR-HIGHLIGHT-COLOR: #A9A9A9; 
  SCROLLBAR-SHADOW-COLOR: #A9A9A9; 
  SCROLLBAR-3DLIGHT-COLOR: #A9A9A9; 
  SCROLLBAR-ARROW-COLOR: #000000; 
  SCROLLBAR-TRACK-COLOR: #FF00FF; 
  SCROLLBAR-DARKSHADOW-COLOR: #000000; 
  }
</style>

<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="style.css">

<style type="text/css">
body {background-color: transparent}
</style>

</head>

<body>

<!-- ***** This is the section of code you need to paste into your web pages ***** -->
<script type="text/javascript" src="milonic_src.js"></script>	
<script type="text/javascript" src="mmenudom.js"></script>
<noscript><a href="http://websites.milonic.com/milonic.com/>Milonic JavaScript Menu is only visible when JavaScript is enabled</a></noscript>
<!-- The next file contains your menu data, links and menu structure etc -->
<script type="text/javascript" src="menu_data.js"></script>	
<!-- **** JavaScript Menu HTML Code -->

<br />
<br />

<table cellpadding="10" cellspacing="0" border="0">
	<tr>
        <td>
		<b>Welcome</b>
        <br />
        <br />
        This online portfolio is a showcase of graphic design, animation, illustration and (client based) web design work by Sam Roberts. (For my entire web design portfolio please visit <a href="http://websites.milonic.com/nang-nang.net" target="_blank">nang-nang.net</a>)        <br />
        <br />Please enjoy exploring the <a href="port.html" target="results">portfolio</a> section, and feel free to <a href="contact.html" target="results">contact me</a> about any anything. Comments about this site, or any of the work is much appreciated. 
        <br />
        <br />
        <a href="https://milonic.com/" target="_blank">DHTML Menu By Milonic JavaScript</a>
        </td>
    </tr>
</table>

</body>
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Re: menu appears invisable in Windows IE

Post by Ruth »

Hi,

It is the Div which contains the iframe for the main htm page that has the menu. More specifically it is the code

Code: Select all

FILTER: chroma (color=#FF00FF);
in that div. If you remove that, then the menu shows up. The menu has coding for use of the IE filters and transitions and it seems that code is applying to the menu and over-riding the background color and such. If you remove that from that particular div, the menu shows and as far as I can see it looks just like it does in FF.

Ruth
User avatar
bubblejam
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 7:31 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: menu appears invisable in Windows IE

Post by bubblejam »

ooh! thanks a lot ruth. totally forgot i had that in the divs!
Post Reply