Horiz menu - need submenu to appear 5px below bottom

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
redtopia
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2005 10:00 pm

Horiz menu - need submenu to appear 5px below bottom

Post by redtopia »

I have a site with a horizontal menu that is coded as: (more or less)

<div id="container">
<div id="header">
<div id="logo">logo image</div>
<div id="main-menu">(menu script)</div>
</div>
<div id="header-bar"></div>
<div id="content">content goes here</div>
</div>

Below the menu, there's a div that stretches across the whole page, which creates a line below the entire header, including the menu. I want the first set of submenus to appear just below this line. Is there a way to specify that the first level of submenus (below the horizontal main menu bar) is to appear a certain number of pixels below the main menu bar?

Thanks!
-JP
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Re: Horiz menu - need submenu to appear 5px below bottom

Post by Ruth »

Hi,

Yes, you can do it using the top='offset=x'; in each submenu of the horizontal menu, where x is the number of pixels you need the submenus to move down.

Ruth
redtopia
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2005 10:00 pm

Re: Horiz menu - need submenu to appear 5px below bottom

Post by redtopia »

Is there a way to do it relative to the main menu? When I specify top='offset=5'; it makes my submenus show up 5 px from the top of the entire site, not 5 px from the top of the menu bar.
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Re: Horiz menu - need submenu to appear 5px below bottom

Post by Ruth »

Hi,

Can you give me a link please so I can see what's up?

Ruth
redtopia
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2005 10:00 pm

Re: Horiz menu - need submenu to appear 5px below bottom

Post by redtopia »

http://beta.dwjh.org

I got it working with the top='offset=x'; parameter, but I wish there were a way to do it relative to the main menu.
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Re: Horiz menu - need submenu to appear 5px below bottom

Post by Ruth »

Hi,

You can't use top= when you are trying to do a sub menu offset from a horizontal parent menu. Try using

Code: Select all

top='offset=3px';
instead of top=81

Ruth
Post Reply