bgimage not showing

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
Arne
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 5:02 pm

bgimage not showing

Post by Arne »

Hi,

There seems to be a problem when i try to change a backgroundimage.
The image is not showing on my own website that i'm currently creating in aptana studio 3.
However, when i open the index.html downloaded from Milonic.com, this image does show up and it works fine.
When i open my own website (using internet explorer as internal server) i only see the menunames.
Ofcourse i mean the background images used in Main Menu

following code is so you can see that i correctly followed instructions given by milonic on how to use the menu
[
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">

<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="en" lang="en">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
<title>sjabloon</title>
<link href="opmaak.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
</head>

<body>
<div id="bg">

<div id="contour">

<div id="tv"> Dit is de testtitel </div>

<div id="text"><img src="Hoek.jpg" /></div>

<div id="menuA">
<script type="text/javascript" src="menu milonic/milonic_src.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="menu milonic/mmenudom.js" ></script>
<noscript><a href=http://milonic.com/>JavaScript DHTML menu is only visible when JavaScript is enabled</a></noscript>
<!-- The next file contains your menu data, links and menu structure etc -->
<script type="text/javascript" src="menu milonic/menu_data.js"></script>
</div>
</div>

<div id="pic"><img src="Boek.gif" width="100%" height="100%" /></div>
</div>
</body>
</html>
]

following code is the menu_data.js that i have adjusted with my own backgroundimages

[
fixMozillaZIndex=true; //Fixes Z-Index problem with Mozilla browsers but causes odd scrolling problem, toggle to see if it helps
_menuCloseDelay=500;
_menuOpenDelay=150;
_subOffsetTop=2;
_subOffsetLeft=-2;




with(menuStyle=new mm_style()){
fontfamily="Verdana, Tahoma, Arial";
fontsize="60%";
offcolor="#000000";
oncolor="#ffffff";
rawcss="padding-top:1px;padding-bottom:10px";
}

with(submenuStyle=new mm_style()){
styleid=1;
fontfamily="Verdana, Tahoma, Arial";
fontsize="8pt";
fontweight="normal";
headercolor="#000000";
offbgcolor="#ffffff";
offcolor="#BFC0C0";
onbgcolor="#ffffff";
oncolor="#000000";
padding=4;
separatorimage="http://img.milonic.com/dot_blue_vert.gif";
separatorsize=4;
}

with(milonic=new menuname("Main Menu")){
alwaysvisible=1;
itemwidth=87;
orientation="vertical";
style=menuStyle;
aI("align=center;bgimage=Topmenu.jpg;itemheight=53;rawcss=padding-bottom:1px;text=Home;url=http://milonic.com/;");
aI("align=center;bgimage=Midmenu.jpg;itemheight=37;text=Milonic;");
aI("align=center;bgimage=Midmenu.jpg;itemheight=37;text=Partners;");
aI("align=center;bgimage=Midmenu.jpg;itemheight=37;text=Links;");
aI("align=center;bgimage=Midmenu.jpg;itemheight=37;text=MyMilonic;");
aI("align=center;bgimage=Botmenu.jpg;itemheight=51;rawcss=padding-bottom:20px;text=Search;");
}


drawMenus();
]

I may have made a very stupid mistake but i'm quite new at this
Thanks in advance,
Arne
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Re: bgimage not showing

Post by Ruth »

Hi,

Can you give us a link to the page? I just copied your code, made a page, made a menu_data.js file and I am seeing made images and named them Topmenu.jpg etc. I opened the page and am seeing those bgimages. So in order to make any more test, I would have to actually go to your page and look at it.

Ruth
Arne
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 5:02 pm

Re: bgimage not showing

Post by Arne »

Hi,

Thanks for this quick response!
Here is a link to my webpage:
http://php.sggroeninge.be/~sac.25AB-01/ ... bloon.html

I've checked the path of the jpg-images and everything seems to check out,
i'm still searching for the problem myself too but with no luck :(

Thanks again,
Arne
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Re: bgimage not showing

Post by Ruth »

Hi,

I am not getting any images at all when I try to find them. According to your menu data file those images should be at this url, I think.

Code: Select all

http://php.sggroeninge.be/~sac.25AB-01/uitwisseling/Topmenu.jpg 
but there is no image there. Or they should be at the following url

Code: Select all

http://php.sggroeninge.be/~sac.25AB-01/uitwisseling/menu milonic/Topmenu.jpg
Don't show up and it seems that the problem is you have a path which has a blank space in it, i.e. menu milonic/ You need to try changing that to either menumilonic/ no space, or menu-milonic, using a dash, or menu_milonic, using an underline. The browser doesn't seem to like that space. Then since the page is not at menu milonic, remember that to get the milonic files on the page you put in the url of menu milonic/ to get them, you need to put in that menu milonic, whatever you name it in front of the image, i.e. menumilonic/Topmenu.jpg. I think that is what you need to do, however, since I always seem to mess it up, I use full path for the images :oops: Then I have no problem :) But, I think if you just put in whatever you name the menu milonic folder before the image, that will fix the problem.

Ruth
Arne
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 5:02 pm

Re: bgimage not showing

Post by Arne »

Hi,

My problem is solved, i did as you said and filled in the full path to the image.
Everything is working fine now.
Thank you so much for your help!
I think from now on i'll always use the full path for an image :lol:

Thanks again,
Arne
Post Reply