Badly need assistance with regard to milonic

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
arunbharatram
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 10:34 pm

Badly need assistance with regard to milonic

Post by arunbharatram »

Greetings

I'm currently working with milonic menus my requirement is clip a part of an XML, parse the same while parsing build another XML which will be fed into an XSLT processor. The output of the XSLT processor is the (X)HTML (Viz.) milonic menu contents same as that of menu_data.js contents (as listed below):
_menuCloseDelay=500;
_menuOpenDelay=150;
_subOffsetTop=2;
_subOffsetLeft=-2;
with(mainStyle=new mm_style())
{
..
}
etc
The generation of this (X)HTML is done by means of an Ajax Request (using prototype.js). I'm done with XML parsing, building a new XML, transforming the XML to (X)HTML or milonic menu contents at the sever side, the much needed ingredients for milonic menu which is now present in a javascript variable at the client side :D now I have to put all the milonic menu contents / (X)HTML contents to an HTML element in the JSP page the latter part I'm not able to achieve :cry: .
Please help me in finding out a solution to this problem.
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Re: Badly need assistance with regard to milonic

Post by Ruth »

Hi,

I have posted this to Milonic for help because it is way beyond what I know. Have you looked in the extras folder for the menu since there are xlm menu, ajax menu, ajax/php/mysql menu? This is all I can suggest from the forum. If you have a professional or above current license you can use the support system to set up a support ticket. This is for paid licenses only.

http://milonic.com/support/

Ruth
arunbharatram
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 10:34 pm

Re: Badly need assistance with regard to milonic

Post by arunbharatram »

Greetings

Thanks for the update but now I have the milonic contents in my javascript variable.
Is it possible for me to put the milonic contents in the div tag element as its innerHTML
say:
S(my_div_tag_id").innerHTML = jsvariablecontainingmiloniccontents

contents of jsvariablecontainingmiloniccontents will be as mentioned below:
<script type=text/javascript>
fixMozillaZIndex=true;
_menuCloseDelay=500;
_menuOpenDelay=150;
_subOffsetTop=2;
_subOffsetLeft=-2;
//etc etc
drawMenus();
</script>

Please provide me some inputs :cry:
arunbharatram
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 10:34 pm

Re: Badly need assistance with regard to milonic

Post by arunbharatram »

Greetings

Please provide me inputs in fixing up this problem.
I'm done with everything at server side.
I have generated the milonic contents dynamically using XSL.
With the help of prototype's Ajax.Request have got this dynamic milonic menu contents
in the client side.
Now I have to just place these contents into the JSP page.
Either something like $('element ID').update() of the above milonic contents or
somehow display the contents in the JSP page.

99.99% coding done but not able to display the milonic menu.
Please help me in this regard. :(
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Re: Badly need assistance with regard to milonic

Post by Ruth »

Hi,

I'm sorry, I gave all the information I thought might give you some input. You will have to contact Milonic for this kind of help. We on the forum are volunteers and not associated with Milonic except that we like the menu and like helping when we can.

Ruth
arunbharatram
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 10:34 pm

Re: Badly need assistance with regard to milonic

Post by arunbharatram »

Greetings

Ruth Thanks a lot for providing all possible inputs.
I think I will have to resort to Milonic Support :D
since i do not have any other options as such :cry: .
arunbharatram
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 10:34 pm

Re: Badly need assistance with regard to milonic

Post by arunbharatram »

Greetings

Can somebody confirm whether we can create a milonic menu *AFTER* the page has fully loaded
(eg, in a <body onload='buildMenu()' > example),

Something like:

[+] Create a static HTML page containing an 'input' button
[+] In the onclick event of the button, we need to :
* create a milonic menu in javascript
* create menu items for the menu
* show the menu on-screen


Please provide some pointers

Thanks in advance
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Re: Badly need assistance with regard to milonic

Post by John »

Add buildAfterLoad=true; as the first line of your _data file.

You can search on that term for numerous posts with additional information.
John
arunbharatram
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 10:34 pm

Re: Badly need assistance with regard to milonic

Post by arunbharatram »

Greetings

Rather than including the menudata.js, is it possible that the milonic menu contents can be generated on the fly
*after loading a page* like on click of a button in that page.

Any pointers...

Thanks in advance
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Re: Badly need assistance with regard to milonic

Post by Ruth »

I think I don't understand what it is you want. You could have a button that you click and it would open the menu, but you'd still have to have the data file on the page for it to call. There are other menus in the extras folders, ajax, php php/mysql, asp, xml and maybe they [I don't know about any of those] maybe they could do what you want. I guess you could also have an iframe on the page and click a button and have a page with the menu on it loaded into the iframe. Again, the menu_data file would be on that page which is loaded. I just don't know how you'd get the menu if you didn't have the menu_data information.

Ruth
arunbharatram
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 10:34 pm

Re: Badly need assistance with regard to milonic

Post by arunbharatram »

Greetings

Without having the menudata.js file inclusion I want to generate it dynamically say on click of a button
write a javascript function something like buildMenu() where in which I give my milonic menu specifications.

Could you please let me know whether we can generate the milonic menu contents dynamically rather than
including it as a separate external file by the name "menudata.js"

Any pointers
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Re: Badly need assistance with regard to milonic

Post by John »

Then add it to the beginning of your XSLT processor...

Code: Select all

buildAfterLoad=true;
_menuCloseDelay=500;
_menuOpenDelay=150;
_subOffsetTop=2;
_subOffsetLeft=-2;
with(mainStyle=new mm_style())
{
..
}
etc
John
arunbharatram
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 10:34 pm

Re: Badly need assistance with regard to milonic

Post by arunbharatram »

Greetings

Not in the XSLT, I just want to know whether we can generate milonic menu contents dynamically,

Without having the menudata.js file inclusion I want to generate it dynamically say on click of a button
write a javascript function something like buildMenu() where in which I give my milonic menu specifications.

Because the page is loaded and after which I click a button in the page and the javascript function is called wheree
I specify the milonic menu contents for the menu. And the milonic menu is generated (without including
external javascript file).

Could you please let me know whether we can generate the milonic menu contents dynamically rather than
including it as a separate external file by the name "menudata.js"

Any pointers
arunbharatram
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 10:34 pm

Re: Badly need assistance with regard to milonic

Post by arunbharatram »

Greetings

I would like to thank all the people who provided all possible inputs, guess I did not express my requirement(s) clearly so now having said that I would like to post a new topic .

Thanks
User avatar
Ruth
 Team
 Team
Posts: 8763
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Contact:

Re: Badly need assistance with regard to milonic

Post by Ruth »

I'm sorry we don't understand what it is you want. The menu can be done dynamically, there are any number of menus in the extras folder which come from a database, the menu on the main milonic site is a php menu, some sites use cold fusion. There are asp/mysql and php/mysql and an ajax menu. So, I think you really do need to contact Milonic directly for they may understand what it is you want.

They would be the most likely to help you since they created the menu and would likely know what it is you want to do. I am a volunteer and I have little knowledge of database.

You are welcome to post any topic you'd like. We help when we can, and point the poster to contacting Milonic when it is beyond our knowledge.

Ruth
Post Reply