Elements

Having problems with DHTML Menu? There is usually somebody here who knows the answer.
Post Reply
Valarie
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2003 8:25 pm

Elements

Post by Valarie »

Thanks in advance for all assistance!

My testing link: http://www.clm1.org/NewWeb/index.htm

I've loaded up a couple of pages for testing purposes. The problem is with images I use on the main menu. If you move to one of the subpages, I'm losing the images. Any ideas??

Subpage: http://www.clm1.org/NewWeb/AboutCLM/Mem ... nefits.htm

Thanks!!
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

First problem is you're way down-level. You are running RC31, and current is RC40. Upgrade.

As to the graphics, your pathing is wrong. As you have it now, it is document-relative (Elements/Menu/about_rg.gif). At the root level it looks for http://www.clm1.org/NewWeb/Elements/Menu/about_rg.gif and finds it OK. When you move to a different level it now looks for http://www.clm1.org/NewWeb/AboutCLM/Mem ... out_rg.gif, which is not where your graphics are located. You need server-relative addressing, which is simply...

Code: Select all

/NewWeb/Elements/Menu/about_rg.gif
This forces the server to start looking for things from the root level, regardless of where the page is located.

Don't forget the arrow as well!
John
Valarie
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2003 8:25 pm

Post by Valarie »

Thanks a ton, John!

Was trying to get away with not having to do that... as you see I'm building this in a temp location. Ah, well. =)

I've also uploaded the new build, boss. =)

Thanks again!
User avatar
Maz
Milonic God
Milonic God
Posts: 1717
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2003 11:39 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Post by Maz »

Valarie,

Its really easy, just drop in the 3 new main js files.

Regards,
maz
User avatar
John
 Team
 Team
Posts: 5967
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 8:23 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by John »

You're welcome.

Also, somewhere in the early 30's (I think!) a few minor changes were made to the data file syntax. You might want to compare the sample _data.js file in the download against yours just to be sure - small stuff, ';' additions and placement, etc.

Scratch that. Just looked at what you have and it is correct.

However, I would suggest taking the...

Code: Select all

<script language="JavaScript" src="Script/milonic_src.js" type="text/javascript"></script>	
<script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript">
if(ns4)_d.write("<scr"+"ipt language=JavaScript src=Script/mmenuns4.js><\/scr"+"ipt>");		
  else _d.write("<scr"+"ipt language=JavaScript src=Script/mmenudom.js><\/scr"+"ipt>"); 
</script>
...out of the <td> (leave only the _data call there) and move it up to the first items after <body>.
John
Post Reply